Skip to main content

African American and African Studies: Biographical Information

A Michigan Connection -- Sojourner Truth

Soujourner Truth (c1797-1883) was an African American abolitionist and women's rights activist. In the late 1850s she moved to Harmonia, Michigan, just west of Battle Creek, where she lived and labored until her death.

(An albumen silver print from approximately 1870 by Randall Studios. Sojourner Truth, Wikimedia Commons)

Finding Information about People

African American Lives
E 185.96 .A446 2004 (Ref)
Includes brief biographical articles of 611 men and women, spanning four centuries.  The volume contains many photographs and historical illustrations, and each entry has a useful bibliography. There are several excellent indexes at the end, including subjects by category or area of renown; a list of African American prizewinners, medalists, members of Congress, and judges.

African Biographical Dictionary
DT 18 .B76 1994
Offers short biographies of nearly 500 prominent sub-Saharan Africans from all walks of life and all periods of history, including the present day. There are several useful indexes in the back, including nations and major leaders; entries divided by countries; and a list of entries by fields of significance.

Dictionary of African Historical Biography
DT 352.6 .L56 1986 (Ref)
Contains brief biographical entries for prominent persons in sub-Saharan African history, including a supplement of post-1960 leaders. Included are all kinds of luminaries, including political, military, labor, religious, rulers, traders, explorers, and educators. There is a solid bibliography at the end, along with subject and name indexes.

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable's picture
Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1012
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Fall 2017:By appointment
Website / Blog Page