Skip to main content

African American and African Studies: Guides to the Field

Bibliographic Guides

These bibliographies recommend research and reference materials, and may also suggest ways of doing research in history.  Use these guides to find seminal books and scholarly articles on your topic.

A Key Bibliography

Helpful Guides

African-American Newspapers and Periodicals:  A National Biography
Z 6944 .N39 A37 1998 (Ref)
This is an extensive bibliography of African American publications, including literary, political, and historical journals, along with general newspapers and popular magazines. It includes both titles that have long ceased publication, along with those that are still in print. Each entry includes basic information about each publication, and lists holdings in libraries across the U.S. and Canada.

Black Journals of the United States
PN 4882.5 .D36 1982 (Ref)This is a historical guide to African American periodicals and newspapers published in the United States beginning with Freedom's Journal in 1827. The journals and newspapers are arranged alphabetically and the entries are quite informative. At the end of the book is a useful chronology of events in African American history related to the founding of black journals, along with geographic and general indexes.  

Dictionary Catalog of the Schomburg Collection of Negro Literature and History
Z 881 .N592 S35
The Schomburg Collection in the New York City Public Library is considered to be one of the finest collections of African American studies and history in the United States. The collection includes books by peoples of African descent and it also contains all signficant materials about peoples of African descent. The 15 volumes in this set present the bibliographic information in one alphabetical listing, with several supplemental volumes.i

Periodicals from Africa: A Bibliography and Union List of Periodicals Published in Africa
Z 3503 .T73
This volume was published in 1977, and its supplement in 1984, both present to scholars a list of periodicals published in Africa. Arrangement is alphabetical by country and each entry provides basic bibliographic information about the publication.

Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and Other Reference Works
Z 1236 .P78 1994 (Ref)
This guide deals principally with categories of materials from library catalogs, through manuscript, newspaper, and other guides, to legal sources and oral history. It is a bibliography of bibliographies intended to direct the researcher to useful books, articles, and other sourc

Student's Guide to History
Call Number: D 16.3 .B4 2013 (Ref)
A practical guide for history majors, covering the following areas: the academic discipline of history and how to use it; how to read history and prepare for exams; how to complete effective history assignments; how to research a historical topic; and how to write a research paper.

 

 

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable's picture
Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1012
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Fall 2017:By appointment
Website / Blog Page