This multimedia database contains essays and articles, a time line, videos, and images of the African experience throughout the Americas.
Get the Big Picture
African American Encyclopedia
Call Number: E 185 .A253 2001 (Ref)
This 10-volume set features entries on people, organizations, landmarks, professions, entertainment, military activity, religion, family life, politics, court cases, cultural movements and other facets of life that have a unique expression among African Americans.
This virtual exhibition by the Library of Congress showcases their incomparable African American collections, displaying more than 240 items, including books, government documents, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, plays, films, and recordings.
Contains essays on all aspects of Native American life in the United States written by experts in the field, many of them Natives. Besides biographical entries and historical topics, modern subject covered include gambling, sports mascots, urban Indians, alcoholism and women's roles. Includes many historical photographs.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Also explores the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and their social and scientific consequences.
This source contains 152 original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the United States, with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language, etc.) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. This work also covers ethno-religious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish.
This is a nonprofit, educational organization dedicated to using the Internet to disseminate information, research, and resources from and about indigenous nations, peoples, and organizations around the world.
Includes over 900 A-to-Z articles written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, addressing such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history of Latinos in the U.S.