Children's & Young Adult Collection: Home

Guide URL: http://libguides.wmich.edu/ChildBooks
Guide Updated: Dec 18, 2014 7:42 PM

Famous Illustrator

The name "Caldecott" may be familiar since the American Library Association presents a Caldecott Award each year to the picture book with the best illustrations.  The award is named after Randolph Caldecott (1846-1886). a British artist and illustrator of children's books.

Here is the cover of one of Mr. Caldecott's works:

(Courtesy of the Project Gutenberg Project; Wikimedia Commons)

Purpose and Scope of the Collection

The Children's and Young Adult Collection serves primarily as a resource and examination center for classes in English, literacy, education and early childhood education. It makes available the best writing in the field, including fiction, non-fiction, and picture books.

It also includes a substantial amount of material at the middle and high school reading levels. Since September 1981, the emphasis has been in the areas of picture books, fiction, multicultural and ethnic books, poetry, folk literature, biography, and historical fiction and non-fiction.

There are two locations for the Children's & Young Adult Collection:

  • Waldo Library, 2nd floor, near the bridge to the Computing Center
  • The smaller Curriculum Enrichment Collection, located in the Education Library, 2800 Sangren Hall (second floor)

How the Children's Books are Arranged

The Children's & Young Adult Collection is classified into 5 major areas:

E---Easy books
Mostly picture books, Pre-K-3rd grade

BR---Beginning Readers
48- to 64-page books intended for young readers, K-2nd grade

Fic---Fiction books
Chapter books and novels for students, 4th-12th grades

Non-fic---Non-fiction books Arranged by Dewey Decimal number, from 001 to 999

Caldecott & Newbery Award books, "C" or "N" .
A reference collection of the Caldecott and Newbery award-winning books arranged by year; the books are arranged chronologically

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1049
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Spring 2015:Tuesdays, 1:30-3:30
Fridays, 10 am-12 noon
Or by appointment
Website / Blog Page