Skip to main content

Children's & Young Adult Literature Subject Guide: Subject Guides to Books

Why Use These Books?

Use these bibliographies to help you choose appropriate books by topic or grade level.  Experts in the field have already evaluated them so, for the most part, you can be assured of getting quality books.

Another Helpful Book

"Best Books" Bibliographies

A to Zoo: Subject Access to Children's Picture Books.  Z1037 .L715 (Ref)
Includes citations to over 23,000 picture books, listed under more than 1,200 subjects, which are recommended for use with children, both for recreational reading and in the school curriculum. This book's strong suit is the detailed subject arrangement that can help a teacher, librarian, or parent choose just the right book on almost any topic imaginable.

Best Books for Children: Preschool Through Grade 6.   Z1037 .G48 (Ref)
An extensive list of highly-recommended books to satisfy both a child's recreational reading needs and the demands of a typical school curriculum. Includes an excellent subject index, and a one-sentence summary of each book.

Best of Latino Heritage, 1996-2002: A Guide to the Best Juvenile Books About Latino People and Cultures.  Z 1039 .L38 S34 2003
Provides a selective, annotated list of children's books, grades kindergarten through high school, focusing on the cultures of Latino peoples across the globe. Arrangement is by country, with author, title and subject indexes.

Broken Flute: The Native Experience in Books for Children.  Z 1039 .I54 B76x 2005 (Ref)
Authored by two Native American women, this is a guide to help teachers, librarians, and parents select the best children's books representing Indian cultures. It also evaluates the most objectionable works by non Native writers.

Heart Has its Reasons: Young Adult Literature with Gay/Lesbian/Queer Content, 1969-2004.  PS 374 .H63 C37 2006
This book begins with an overview essay about young adult books with GLBT subjects, and then divides the literature by decades, from the 1970s to the 1990s. Each chapter has an essay discussing issues and themes, followed by an annotated bibliography of YA books.

Sensitive Issues: An Annotated Guide to Children's Literature, K-6.  Z 1037 .R23 1992
This book provides critical reviews of books on important issues and serious problems that children often have to deal with on an everyday basis at home and/or at school. The issues included are substance abuse, illness, death, divorce, disabilities, prejudice, cultural differences, relocation, nontraditional home environments, and child abuse. The authors not only include a review, but also recommend grade levels and learning activities to be used with each book.

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable's picture
Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1012
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Fall 2017:By appointment
Website / Blog Page