Prepared by the Council on Interracial Books for Children, and adapted by the California State Department of Education, this site offers ten things to look for when choosing non-racist and non-sexist books for children, including illustrations, story lines, lifestyles, vocabulary, and relationships between characters.
This is a collection of reviews of good books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
Hosted by the British Library, this site examines how childhood was depicted in the literature of the 18th and 19th centuries, and how perceptions of childhood were different from those of today. Were children's books intended to instruct or entertain?
Lists Internet resources related to books for children and young adults. Offers access to stories, author profiles, book reviews, bestseller lists, book award information, research guides, indexes, resources for teachers, librarians, and parents, and lists of recommended books.
Sponsored by Miami University of Ohio, this site gives teachers, librarians, parents and students a searchable database of picture books for designing literature-based thematic units for all disciplines; contains abstracts of over 5,000 picture books for children in preschool through grade three.
Although not particularly scholarly, this is a fun gateway to sites about fairy tales that was suggested for this guide by children in a Savannah, Georgia, public library. The site includes lesson plans, reading lists, fairy tale Web sites, fractured fairy tales, and sites devoted to specific fairy tales such as Cinderella, Snow White, and Robin Hood.
Oyate is a Native American/American Indian advocacy and education organization that serves Native people. They review children’s and young adult literature and advocate for Native Americans/American Indians to be portrayed with historical accuracy, cultural appropriateness and without anti-Indian bias and stereotypes.
"A portal to the realm of fairy tale and folklore studies featuring 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, and over 1,300 illustrations. Discover hundreds of fairy tales from around the world here." (The Web site opening page.)