This is the "Home" page of the "Electronic Resources Alerts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alerting Users to temporary outages and the addition of new features to Electronic Resources provided by the University Libraries.
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wmich.edu/EresourcesAlerts Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

RSS Feed for Electronic Resources Alerts

Enter the URL address listed below in order to subscribe to Electronic Resource Alerts in your RSS reader.

 

The Birds of North America database will be unavailable on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 from 6:00 am until 2:00 am.

The Birds of North America database will be unavailable on Wednesday, June 19, 2013 from 6:00 am until 2:00 am.

Mango Languages now includes several addtional languages

Our subscription has been upgraded to the 'complete package'. This allows WMU users access to:

Arabic (Egyptian, Levantine, and MSA dialects), Chinese (Cantonese and Mandarin dialects), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Farsi (Persian), Finnish, French (France and Canadian dialects), German, Greek (Koine, Modern and Ancient dialects), Haitian Creole, Hawaiian, Hebrew (Modern and Biblical dialects), Hindi, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean. Latin. Norwegian, Pashto, 'Pirate', Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Romanian, Russian. Slovak, , Spanish (Spain and Latin American dialects). Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tamil, Thai, Turkish. Ukrainian, Urdu, and Vietnamese.

Our subscription also includes:

English for: Arabic speakers (Egyptian),  ...Chinese speakers (both Mandarin and Cantonese dialects), ...French speakers, ...German speakers, ...Greek speakers, ...Italian speakers, ...Japanese speakers,  ...Korean speakers, ...Polish speakers, ...Portugeuse (Brazil) speakers, ...Russian speakers, ...Spanish (Latin American) speakers,  ...Turkish speakers, ...Vietnamese speakers.

The access URL will remain the same so existing bookmarks will connect to the upgraded version.

  • Mango Languages  
      
      Icon
    This interactive language learning system provides lessons in practical conversation skills for dozens of foreign languages and provides tutorials for using English in several different languages. Great preparation for study abroad and accessible on your iPhone, iTouch, or iPad (click i for instructions) or through Bronco NetID when away. Create an individual profile to track your progress.
 

Connotea bookmark service will discontinue service on March 12, 2013

Connotea is a free online bookmark/reference management service for scientists, researchers, and clinicians. This was first introduced in December 2004 by the Nature Publishing Group.

However, their site ( http://www.connotea.org/ ) says "Connotea will discontinue service on March 12, 2013" They recommend that users download their bookmarks before that date using Connotea Export Tool (  http://connotea-export.nature.com/login  ).  Once there users can export their bookmarks/references in RIS format and then import their RIS file to their RefWorks account. (for more information about Refworks see the guide at http://libguides.wmich.edu/refworks )

 

ProQuest Statistical Datasets is experiencing problems runing Java, use Internet Explorer.

At some point ProQuest Statistical Datasets ceased operating. This was diagnised as a problem with Java. Apparently the application was changed to operate best with Java 7. (Java 6 is on the Libraries' computers)

If a user access ProQuest Datasets using Forefox 12 (which is on the Libraries' computers), Java fails to load and the application doesn't execute.

If a user access ProQuest Datasets using Chrome, the user is prompted that the plug-in is out-of-date and prompts the user to either update the plug-in or run the application. If the user clicks on "Run the Application" Java loads OK and the application executes normally.

If a user access ProQuest Datasets using Internet Explorer, Java loads after a while and and the application executes normally.

Currently Java 7 is unsupported and OIT recommends against using it. See: http://www.wmich.edu/it/news/java7.html

 

American History in Video - New content

During September 2012, American History in Video was updated with 153 additional videos .
Total videos available in American History in Video :  6002 videos, equaling 1,616 hours.

New content includes titles from A&E's Modern Marvels, Military Blunders and War Chronicles series. There is also content from Filmakers Library --  "American Renegade: Confessions of Radical Humanist" and "When Castro Seized the Hilton" -- and from Kino -- "The Eleanor Roosevelt Story." Also new are titles from the PBS series American Experience and Between the Wars 1918-1941.

The largest amount of content in this release comes from WGBH Boston Video and their series Vietnam: A Television History. This includes more than 100 interviews with figures such as Bill Moyers, Bui Diem, Charles Sabatier, Clark Clifford, David Halberstam, Dean Rusk, Douglas MacArthur, Henry Cabot Lodge, Ho Minh Sac, Jack Valenti, John Kerry, Le Tran Nhan, Madame Ngo Dinh Nhu, McGeorge Bundy, Averell Harriman, and many more.

You can see a list of all of the new content here -
http://libproxy.library.wmich.edu/login?url=http://ahiv.alexanderstreet.com/WhatsNew

 

World History in Video - New Content Added

During September 2012, World History in Video was updated with 217 additional videos .
Total videos available in World History in Video :  917 videos, equaling 591 hours.

New content includes titles from the A&E Series Ancient Mysteries; Barbarians; Biography; Declassified; Great Blunders in History; Last Days of World War II; Perspectives; BBC and Danish Broadcasting Company documentaries, and more.

You can see a list of all of the new content here -
http://libproxy.library.wmich.edu/login?url=http://whiv.alexanderstreet.com/WhatsNew

 

ProQuest Statistical Datasets experiencing errastic linking problems

As of 10/02/2012 we are having some problems with the URL to the new version of ProQuest Statistical Datasets. If you link to it via either the A-Z list or VuFind you will go directly to Statistical Datasets as expected. However if you close the browser window after conducting a search, then try to go to it again you will go to ProQuest Statistical Insights (not the Datasets as expected). to go to the Statistical Datasets database select it from the  "Related subscriptions" drop down box displayed within the ProQuest Statistical Insights database.

The database is available for use and we are working to resolve this linking problem ass soon as possible.

Thank you,

 

The address to ProQuest Congressional has changed, please update yor bookmarks.

The URL required to access the database ProQuest Congressional has been changed to:

http://libproxy.library.wmich.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/congressional

The link in both the A-Z list of databases on the Libraries' web site and the Library Catalog has been updated to reflect this change.

If you have a personal bookmark to this database, please update to the new address listed above.

 

Connection problems related to "Mountain Lion" upgrades resolved

The connection problems have been reported by Users using Apple Computers and wireless connections after upgrading to the latest Apple OS (version 10.8 or "Mountain Lion") have been resolved. Users should be able o connect to subscribed electronic resoures successfully.

 

Connection problems experienced by Users which have upgraded to OS "Mountain Lion"

Connection problems have been reported by Users using Apple Computers wireless connections after upgrading to the latest Apple OS (version 10.8 or "Mountain Lion"). If a User has Mountain Lion installed on their laptop and can't connect via wireless to Project Muse, plsease try another system. At this point connection problems have been reported with Project Muse only.

We are investigating the problem and will update you on any resolution.

AP Stylebook 2012 edition features new broadcast chapter

The AP Stylebook now contains an additional section on broadcast terminology. This is available online as part of the WMU subscription to AP Stylebook, located at:
hthe link below.


(select "Broadcast Guidelines" from the left-hand menu to access this section.)

  • AP Stylebook  Icon
    Provides a detailed and comprehensive guide to Associated Press style and formatting. AP style is used as a general standard for news writing. This subscription is limited to ten simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

Theatre in Video database expanded with the addtion of over a hundred videos

The Theatre in Video database has been expanded by adding more than 100 extra videos. The URL required to access the database remains the same.
The description on the LibGuides entry for the database has been updated to reflect this

Some of the videos that have been added are:
*Doctor Faustus, Christopher Marlowe, from Kino Lorber
*Harold Pinter: Art, Truth & Politics, from Illuminations (Kino)
*Luther, John Osborne, from Kino International
*Macbeth, William Shakespeare, from Kino Lorber
*Measure for Measure, William Shakespeare, from Kino Lorber
*Rhinocerous, Eugene Ionesco, from Kino International
*The Duchess of Malfi, John Webster, from Stage on Screen (Kino)
*The Iceman Cometh, Eugene O'Neill, from Kino International
*The School for Scandal, Richard Sheridan, from Stage on Screen (Kino)
*Theater of War, from Kino International (a production of Brecht’s Mother Courage, as adapted by Tony Kushner and starring by Meryl Streep)
*Volpone, Ben Jonson, from Stage on Screen (Kino)
*A Dream In Hanoi, narrated by F. Murray Abraham, from Bullfrog Films
*Hamlet: A Taste of Shakespeare, from Bullfrog Films
*Macbeth: A Taste of Shakespeare, from Bullfrog Films
*Othello: A Taste of Shakespeare, from Bullfrog Films
*The Merchant of Venice: A Taste of Shakespeare, from Bullfrog Films
*Antigone: Rites of Passion, Sophocles, from Alive Mind (Kino)
*Hedda Gabler, Henrik Ibsen, from Alive Mind (Kino)
*A Delicate Balance, Edward Albee, from Kino International
*Butley, Simon Gray, from Kino International
*Dollhouse, Henrik Ibsen, from Alive Mind (Kino)
*Galileo, Bertolt Brecht, from Kino International
*In Celebration, David Storey, from Kino International
*Jacques Brel is Alive and Well and Living in Paris, Eric Blau, from Kino International
*Let the Sun Shine In: Hair, from Kino International
*Lost in the Stars, Kurt Weill, from Kino International
*Philadelphia, Here I Come, Brian Friel, from Kino International
*The Homecoming, Harold Pinter, from Kino International
*The Maids, Jean Genet, from Kino International
*The Man in the Glass Booth, Robert Shaw, from Kino International
*Three Sisters, Anton Chekhov, from Kino International
*The Belle of Amherst, William Luce, from Kino International

--------------------------
  • Theatre in Video  Icon
    Streaming video of over 350 performances of major plays and more than 100 documentaries.
 

Announcement of URL change for the “A - Z List of Journals, Magazines and Newspapers at WMU” managed at the University Libraries

The University Libraries have updated their software which manages the Journals A-Z list. This was done for a number of factors:
 
·     Providing Users with faster, agile, and more up to date information on journals held in the Libraries
·     Increasing the interoperability of the resources the in the Libraries'  collection
·     Decreasing the maintenance and personnel costs associated with managing electronic resources
 
Be assured that the basic functionality and appearance of the Journals A-Z list has remained the same. However this change has necessitated a few changes in the URLs required to link to this resources. These changes have already been made to the Libraries home pages. These changes have also been announced on the front-page of the Libraries' web site  ( http://www.wmich.edu/library/ ) and on the “Alerts” page ( http://libguides.wmich.edu/EresourcesAlerts ) which is linked off the Library home page.
 
If you or someone in your department has linked to any of the sites listed below, either in personal bookmarks or in various Elearning software, they should update to the new address.
 
The updated URLs are:
·        Journals A-Z list:     http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/wmichsfx/az
·        Journals by Discipline: http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/wmichsfx/az?&param_perform_value=searchCategories
·        Journals Citation Linker:   http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/wmichsfx/az?&param_perform_value=citation
 

Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian

Profile Image
George Boston
Contact Info
Technical Services Department
University Libraries
1903 W. Michigan Avenue
Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo,MI 49008-5353
Telephone: 269-387-5147
Fax: 269-387-5193
Email: george.boston@wmich.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip