350 hours of high-definition video from eighteen years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic and also includes 175 hours of bonus material from the popular CBS News program Sunday Morning, bringing the collection to a total of 525 hours of CBS News content.
This database focuses exclusively on issues of aging and the population of people aged 50 years and older. Updated on a weekly basis, AgeLine indexes more than 210 journals, books, book chapters and reports.research with index terms drawn from AgeLine's Thesaurus of Aging Terminology.
Alexander Street Video is a single cross-searchable platform in which users have a completely integrated online repository of WMU subscribed or owned Alexander Street video titles.
American History in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Dance in Video
Education in Video
Ethnographic Video Online
Filmaker's Library Online
Opera in Video
Theatre in Video
VAST: Academic Video Online
World History in Video
A database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . TAIR also includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions.
This database focuses on the collective experience of the LGBTQ community while illuminating the personal experiences of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. The archive contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.
Volumes I and II of this multi-part online streaming video collection of narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. Asian voices addressing themes such as modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Black Studies in Video brings together seminal documentaries, powerful interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. At completion, the collection will contain 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video illustrates the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety. From law enforcement and corrections personnel, to first responders and victims’ advocates, this compilation of documentaries, training videos, and interviews visually depicts the theoretical principles and practical application of criminal justice and emergency response.
The Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall video streams classical music concerts to your tablet, smartphone, smartTV or PC. Included are hundreds of current concert recordings and past concerts and symphonies from the Berliner Philharmoniker’s archive. Also included are vocal works by composers from all classical periods, interviews, feature length documentaries and concert introductions. New concerts added every week, over 40 live streams every year.
Users must create an account while on campus using their WMU email account. Check your spam folder if you don't receive an account confirmation email.
Free apps are available in the Apple, Amazon, Google Play and Windows stores.
A streaming platform for independent documentary and social issue film, with exclusive access to over 700 films from leading filmmakers. Subjects include Aging, Anthropology, Architecture, Arts, Business and Economics, Criminal Justice, Global Studies, Healthcare, Nursing, Philosophy, Religion, Sustainability, Urban Studies, Women's Studies and more.
MSCI ESG Manager is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis data and compliance for several ESG factors.
Access is by Username and Password.
The Eurasia Atlantic Database is a bibliographic and full text database that provides area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union, and lesser coverage to Western Europe. The database includes Soviet and WWII history, including diplomatic/historical documentation such as diplomatic papers and the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in full text.
Core coverage includes: Northern Eurasia: (Russia, the USSR, Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Chechnya, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, Yugoslavia, and the worldwide European diaspora).
Central and Inner Asia-South Asia (Afghanistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Chechnya, Daghestan, Georgia, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Tibet, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Xinjiang).
Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more.
ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India. These scholarly sources support many academic fields of study, such as business, medicine, science, technology, social sciences and humanities.
A cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
WMU users now have access to all journals published by the Nature Publishing Group. This includes all "Nature" journals; "Reviews" journals, and much more. To see a list of these journals click on "More" below...
These journals are all available plus all "Open Access" journals provided by NPG are available to WMU users.
The American Journal of Gastroenterology
The American Journal of Gastroenterology Supplements
Acta Pharmacologica Sinica
British Dental Journal
British Journal of Cancer
Bone Marrow Transplantation
Cell Death and Differentiation
Cancer Gene Therapy
Cellular & Molecular Immunology
European Journal of Clinical Nutrition
European Journal of Human Genetics
Genes and Immunity
Genetics in Medicine
Immunology and Cell Biology
International Journal of Impotence Research
International Journal of Obesity
International Journal of Obesity Supplements
The ISME Journal
The Journal of Antibiotics
Nature archive: 1987-1996
Nature archive: 1950-1986
Nature archive: 1869-1949
Nature archive: 1997-2006
Journal of Exposure Science and Environmental Epidemiology
Journal of Human Genetics
Journal of Human Hypertension
Journal of Perinatology
Nature Cell Biology
Nature Chemical Biology
Nature Climate Change
Nature Reviews Cancer
Nature Reviews Cardiology
Nature Reviews Clinical Oncology
Nature Reviews Drug Discovery
Nature Reviews Disease Primers
Nature Reviews Endocrinology
Nature Reviews Genetics
Nature Reviews Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Nature Reviews Immunology
Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
Nature Reviews Microbiology
Nature Reviews Neuroscience
Nature Reviews Nephrology
Nature Reviews Neurology
Nature Reviews Rheumatology
Nature Reviews Urology
Nature Structural & Molecular Biology
Prostate Cancer and Prostatic Diseases
Scientific American Archive 1993-2005
Scientific American Archive 1910-1947
Scientific American Archive 1948-1992
Scientific American Archive 1845-1909
Scientific American Archive - Supplements and Builders
Scientific American Mind
The Pharmacogenomics Journal,
Subscription includes access to the New York Times Digital edition for all faculty, staff, and students of Western Michigan University. Coverage is from 1851 to date, with some exceptions. Access to archived articles within the date range 1923-1980 is limited. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider
HOW TO ACCESS: FIRST Register for an Academic Pass here.
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass.
Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can register as above for a new pass for 364 days.
New York Times in Education provides both educators and students the ability to make the most of NYTimes.com’s digital 24/7 content. faculty contributions, curated New York Times articles , custom news alerts, co-curricular activities, and weekly digests in several major subject area, including Biology, Business, Criminal Justice, Economics, and more.
How do you access NYTimes.com/edu?
- visit http://nytimesineducation.com/ and click link “Register ” at the upper right hand corner. From there, follow the instructions
to create an account using your school email address as your username. (Note: This is not the same logon credentials that are used to access the New York Times Digital edition. Use your @wmich.edu email addresses to register. )
ProQuest Central combines the complete content of over thirty of the most heavily used ProQuest databases across all major subject areas, with deep coverage in business, health and medical, news, social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and technology. It provides access to scholarly journals, high value market research, country, economic, and industry reports, pre-print working papers, full text dissertations, and a vast number of newspapers, professional journals, and general interest periodicals.
Proquest Central currently includes all the content available in these Proquest Databases:
ABI/INFORM Dateline (1985-Current)
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (1971-Current)
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Arts & Humanities Database
Asian & European Business Collection
Australia & New Zealand Database
Biology Database (1998-Current)
Business Market Research Collection
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Business
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Health & Medicine
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: History
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Literature & Language
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Science & Technology
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Social Sciences
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: The Arts
Career & Technical Education Database
Career & Technical Education Database: Business
Career & Technical Education Database: Health & Medicine
Career & Technical Education Database: History
Career & Technical Education Database: Literature & Language
Career & Technical Education Database: Science & Technology
Career & Technical Education Database: Social Sciences
Career & Technical Education Database: The Arts
Computing Database (1998-Current)
Continental Europe Database
Criminal Justice Database (1981-Current)
East & South Asia Database
East Europe, Central Europe Database
Education Database (1988-Current)
Family Health Database
Global Breaking Newswires
Health & Medical Collection
Health Management Database
India Database: Business (1998-Current)
India Database: Health & Medicine (1998-Current)
India Database: History (1998-Current)
India Database: Literature & Language (1998-Current)
India Database: Science & Technology (1998-Current)
India Database: Social Sciences (1998-Current)
India Database: The Arts (1998-Current)
Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream
Middle East Newsstream
Latin America & Iberia Database
Library Science Database (1970-Current)
Middle East & Africa Database
Nursing & Allied Health Database
Political Science Database (1985-Current)
Public Health Database
Religion Database (1986-Current)
Research Library: Business
Research Library: Health & Medicine
Research Library: History
Research Library: Literature & Language
Research Library: Science & Technology
Research Library: Social Sciences
Research Library: The Arts
Social Science Database
Sociology Database (1985-Current)
Telecommunications Database (1995-Current)
UK & Ireland Database
CBS News 60 MINUTES
US Hispanic Newsstream
US Major Dailies
US Midwest Newsstream
US North Central Newsstream
US Northeast Newsstream
US South Central Newsstream
US Southeast Newsstream
US West Newsstream
The documentary series watched by American Theatregoers from 1935–1967 is now available in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students. The videos have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives.
Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.
When complete, Theatre in Video Volume II will contain 400 additional hours of classic and contemporary plays and documentaries with a greater focus on new and international productions. Performances from from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
The Western Herald newspaper is the longest continuous publication on Western’s campus. It began in 1916 with a focus on students and the campus community, although there are frequent stories referencing national and even international news. It was not always a student operated newspaper. In 1920, students were allowed to proof read the newspaper. In 1938 complete control was turned over to students and it has been a student-run publication since that time.
The Western Herald is available from 2009 in another WMU database Newsbank, which is available online to on campus visitors and everywhere for current, students, faculty, staff and WMU retirees.
Physical copies of the Herald are held in the WMU Archives and Regional History Collections at the Zhang Legacy Collections Center. For more information call (269) 387-8490 or visit WMU Archives (branch library)
An archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women’s interest consumer magazines. Titles are scanned from cover to cover in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing.
Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture
Focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Topics include the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.
World Newsreels Online, 1929–1966 focuses primarily on the World War II era, with supplementary coverage of American life through the mid-1960s. Includes nine newsreel series from four countries—the United States, Japan, France, and the Netherlands comprising 8,000 indexed and transcribed individual newsreels. Some videos contain English transcription.