ProQuest Research Companion provides a collection of multimedia-based learning modules and interactive tools focused on the key information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
The first time you use Interlibary Loan you will need to register (for free and it is confidential) so we can set up an account for you. You will only need to do this once. Once you are in the system you can request books, articles, and other types of resources.
Indexes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers and trade publications in a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Full-text available for over 2,500 journals. Coverage from 1907.
This index includes several research and citation databases. The Core Collection contains seven major databases: (1) Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), (2) Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and (3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), (4) Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1994-present), (5) Book Citation Index (2005-present), (6) Current Chemical Reactions (1994-present), and (7) Index Chemicus (1994-present) . Cited Reference Search allows users to search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Additional databases can also be accessed through the Web of Science platform, including: BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Direct, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, INSPEC, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Tutorial Library users should use the Chrome browser for full functionality of this database.
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.
NOTE: users viewing this database through Internet Explorer 11 may experience a loss of functionality. It is recommended that you use a different browser.
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on Find it @WMU, while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :
1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (Find it@WMU)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "Find it@WMU" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.