HIST 3191: American Sport History
Databases and Web Sites with Primary Documents
There is bound to be something in at least one of these databases that will help you locate some pertinent primary documents for your paper.
- American Periodicals Series (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Contains over 1,500 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and more.
Compliations of Primary Documents
- Sports in North America : A Documentary HistoryCall Number: GV 581 .S655 1992 (Education Library)This multi-volume set traces the history of sports and recreation in North America beginning with the early 17th century through the 1960s. The volumes are arranged chronologically and contain many primary sources.
You might find some pertinent primary documents in these books.
- American Sport : A Documentary HistoryCall Number: GV 583 .L478 1989 (Education Library)This is a collection of primary documents related to the history and development of sports in the United States from the 17th century to the present.
Autobiographies Can Be Primary Documents
- Parseghian and Notre Dame FootballCall Number: GV 951 .P3 1973 (Education Library)Ara Parseghian's autobiography is a first-hand account of the rise of Notre Dame as a college football powerhouse.
(Attributed to Supa Snoopa)
Online Videos
Try searching these online video databases for your topic. As they say, "A picture is worth a thousand words."
- American History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
A searchable and browsable database including approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. When complete it is expected to contain more than 2,000 hours of newsreel footage.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that cultural records are preserved. Some items are full-text online and others are in print form; check our online catalog to see if we own them.
American Memory--Your Tax Dollars at Work
The Library of Congress's American Memory site has some great sports collections, especially of baseball. Here is one you might find useful.
Meet Your Librarian
