WMU Research Guides: HIST 6010: Historiography: Article Databases

Best Journal and Newspaper Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century (Accessible Archives) This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American Periodicals Series (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
British Periodicals Collection I (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1847-1993)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1999)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1992)
The Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times w/ Index (1851-2013)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
The Washington Post (1877-2000)
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window

Index to Older Scholarship

There is a print reference set that indexes OLDER scholarly articles in the field of history. Depending on your topic, you may want to take a look here.

Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974
Z 6205 .C18 (Reference)
This 11-volume set allows the user to search by broad keywords to find articles about history and its related fields in scholarly journals dating as far back as 1838, through 1974. One can also search by author names to get journal citations. No other history index provides access to so many articles from the 19th and early 20th centuries.