Skip to main content

Comparative Religion: Finding Books

Browsing LC Classification Numbers

Browsing LC Call Numbers

Finding Books in Other Libraries

  • WorldCat 
    Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Contains millions of records in hundreds of languages. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog, WestCat.
  • MeLCat 
    The Michigan eLibrary catalog and resource sharing system. Search for books and other materials in many Michigan libraries. You will need your WIN in order to request materials.
  • Google Book Search 
    Search the full text of books, find full text of the books where copyright laws allow, see a few pages, or find where you can purchase or borrow the particular book. Google is working with publishers and libraries to provide access to as many books as possible.

Special Information Sources in Religion

American Jewish Yearbook E184 .J5 A6 (Ref) Essays and statistics on Jewish life in the United States, with separate chapters on national affairs, communal affairs, Jewish population in the U.S. and elsewhere, directories of national Jewish organizations, federations, welfare funds, community councils, Jewish periodicals, obituaries, etc.

Catholic Almanac AY81.R6 N3 (General Stacks) A compendium of facts about Catholics all over the world. Includes sections on news events of the last year, dates in church history, popes, papal encyclicals, key Catholic doctrines, the Sacraments, membership statistics, location of cathedrals, honors, awards, deaths, etc.

Chronology of Religious Life in America  BR 515 .W76 2009 (Waldo, General Stacks)  "This chronology begins with an overview of religious life in the U.S., then focuses on developments from Jamestown in 1607 to the Catholic backlash in response to Nancy Pelosi’s comments in 2008. Appendices focus on the distribution of major religious groups and various Christian religious denominations in the U.S., and the effect of religion on the 2008 election."

Handbook of Denominations in the United States BL 2525 .M425 2010 (Ref) Longer descriptions of each denomination than in The Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches.

Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions  BL 2525 .M449 2009 8th ed. (Ref) Includes "directory listings of individual groups that give information on organization name and acronym, addresses, descriptive information obtained from the group itself, statistics on membership, affiliated post-secondary educational institutions, periodicals and newsletters issued by the groups, and bibliographic sources on the group."

The Yearbook of American and Canadian Churches BR 513 .Y4  (Ref) Lists religious bodies in the United States and Canada, providing a description of each, followed by the address of the headquarters, phone, e-mail, Web site, list of officers, and periodicals published. Also includes seminaries, theological schools, and a calendar of religious holidays.

Islam: The 21st Century