Skip to main content

Comparative Religion: Book Reviews

Sources for Book Reviews in Comparative Religion

Reviews for comparative religion resources are found in many online and print titles. Two general online (see links below) and print indexes are available: Book Review Digest (Z 1219 .C96 Ref) and the Book Review Index (Z 1035 .A1 B6 Ref).  Another excellent print title for book reviews in philosophy is the Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974 , located in Waldo Library, Central Reference (Z 1035 .A1 C63x).

The following online databases are excellent for locating book reviews.  The first two are especially useful for reviews of philosophy and religion books, but these fields are so broadly based that any general humanities or social sciences database may include relevant reviews.  See the titles found under the tab labeled Article Databases, e.g., Humanities Abstracts and Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective.

  • ATLA Religion   
    Index to 1.7 million citations to journals and edited books as well as book reviews in the field of religious studies. Coverage from 1908 to the present, with selected records back to 1818. Updated twice a year.
  • The Philosopher's Index   
    Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other publications on philosophy covering ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Coverage: 1940-date. 
  • Book Review Digest Plus   Indexes and excerpts reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books published in leading periodicals. Scholarly books, textbooks, government publications, and technical books are excluded. Online coverage: 1983-present. Updated weekly.
  • Book Review Digest Retrospective   Indexes and excerpts reviews of 300,000 English-language fiction and nonfiction books published in leading periodicals. Scholarly books, textbooks, government publications, and technical books are excluded. Print: Z 1219 .C96 (Central Ref) This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
  • Book Review Index   Provides reviews of general interest and some scholarly books published in the US since 1965. This doesn't have the excerpts from reviews that Book Review Digest provides, nor does it go back to 1905, but it does index many more periodicals. Print: Z 1035 .A1 B6 (Central Ref)
     
     
    See also Arts and Humanities Citation Index in the Web of Science--box to left.

A Book for Everything