Skip to main content

Comparative Religion: Guides to the Field

Right Here, Right Now

The Christian/Jewish Bible

The Anchor Bible Dictionary BS 440 .A54 1992 (Waldo, General Stacks) Six volumes defining people, places, things, and beliefs in the Bible. Includes bibliographies.

A Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament: with an appendix, containing the Biblical Aramaic PJ 4833 .B68 1978 (Ref)

The Home Book of Bible Quotations BS 432 .S667 (Waldo, General Stacks) Subject arrangement, with a separate keyword index, of passages the editor thought worthy of inclusion, with notes and commentary. Ints.

The Interpreter's Bible BS 491.2 .I55 (Waldo, General Stacks) The text of the King James translation of the Bible is contrasted, passage by passage, with the Revised Standard version, at the top of each page of this multi-volume set. 

Nelson's Complete Concordance of the Revised Standard Version BS 425 .E4 1984 (Ref) An alphabetical list of all the major words in the Bible, referencing them by book, chapter, and verse. 

Research Guides

A subject guide is a bibliography, often annotated, arranged by type of materials available for that discipline.  Among the resources listed are guides, encyclopedias, dictionaries, periodical indexes, bibliographical sources, Web sites, and other useful resources for your research. 

Keyguide to Information Sources on World Religions Z 7833 .H66 1992 (Ref) A selective, briefly annotated guide to reference works about religions world-wide.  

Research Techniques for Scholars and Students in Religion and Theology BL 41 .T83 2000 (General Stacks)
A concise introduction to researching religion and theological topics from the library's catalogs to indexes and databases.

Virtual Religion Index "This Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within." 

Guide to Biblical Topics