Skip to main content

Comparative Religion: Religion Web Sites

Key Websites

The sources listed here are, for the most part, free World Wide Web sites that have no special selection criteria, but may provide easy access to information.  For more authoritative, often peer-reviewed information, see the extensive list of the University Libraries' licensed scholarly databases found under the Article Databases tab at the top of this page as well as other religion resources such as guides to the field, books, encyclopedias, streaming videos, etc.

 

Hindu Universe

Provides links to 17,000 sites about Hindu culture and religion, distinguishing among scriptures, philosophy, customs, history, and interfaith relations.

 

Internet Journal of Religion

"This site functions as a portal to the print and online journals published by member assciations of the EASR (European Association for the Study of Religion).   It also provides up-to-date links to peer-reviewed online journals pertaining the academic study of religions."  (Site description)

 

Internet Sacred Text Archive

Provides, in addition to religious texts, texts from mythology, folklore, legend, and occult subjects. There are 46 categories, including, for example, "The Age of Reason," which provides full-text of writings by freethinkers such as Thomas Paine, Charles Darwin, and Mark Twain.

 

In the First Person: Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Other Personal Narratives 

This index lets users perform searches within letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies that are available on the Web and in Alexander Street databases. Users can access thousands of personal narratives in English from archives and repositories everywhere. Includes links to full text, audio, and video whenever available.

 

Judaism and Jewish Resources

From the table of contents links lead to a great variety of resources about Jewish culture, history and religion.

 

Resources for the Study of Buddhism

A gateway to many sites for the study of Buddhist religion and culture.

 

Taoism Virtual Library

"Contains extensive links to online resources on the history and canon of Daoism, Chinese history and culture, Chinese Philosophy, reading lists/bibliographies, English translations of Daoist texts, Daoism and Martial Arts, Alchemy, Feng Shui and more." (Site descrption)

 

North American Religion Atlas

The Religion by Region section of this atlas "represents the first comprehensive effort to show how religion shapes, and is being shaped by, regional culture in America. The project will comprise edited volumes on each of eight regions of the country. A ninth volume will sum up the results in order to draw larger conclusions about the way religion and region combine to affect civic culture and public policy in the United States as a whole. The project has been funded by Lilly Endowment, Inc." Other sections include Maps and Data, Teacher Resources, and a Multimedia Library.

Mapping Religion in the U.S.

The Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life, launched in 2001, seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.

The Pew Forum conducts surveys, demographic analyses and other social science research on important aspects of religion and public life in the U.S. and around the world. It also provides a neutral venue for discussions of timely issues through roundtables and briefings.