Skip to main content

Comparative Religion: Reference Resources

Key Islamic References

Jewish Word Usage

North American Religions

THE Key Related Encyclopedia to Religion

Philosophers on Religion

Names We Recognized

A Directory of ANSWERS

"Superb Specialized Atlas" for Islam

New Biblical Interpretation

Dictionaries for Religion Research

Oxford Reference Online 

Includes more than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once.

Credo Reference 

Full text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more. Click on Religion and you can search the electronic version of the following dictionaries:

Additional Religion Resources

Christian Philosophy A-Z BR 100 . H47 2006 (Ref) "In this overview of Christian philosophy from Augustine to the present, Christian philosophers (including leaders of the recent revival of Christian analytic philosophy) wrestle with their philosophical beliefs and their faith, questioning whether God exists, how God knows the future, and the relationship between Athens and Jerusalem."  Publisher's note

The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church 3rd ed. rev BR95.O8 2005 (Ref)  Historical treatment of Christianity, with more attention to Western Christendom than Eastern Orthodoxy. Concise entries addressed to non-Christians as well as Christians.

The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism BQ130 .P75 2014 (Ref) "The most comprehensive dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English More than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words The first dictionary to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions--Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean." 

The Routledge Dictionary of Judaism BM50 .N47 2004 (Ref)

"Compiled by two internationally renowned experts, and with over 600 wide-ranging and informative entries, this dictionary provides the reader with an invaluable reference aid to all areas of Judaism" (Publisher). See also The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion at BM50 .O94 1997 (Ref)

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam BP40 .O95 2003 (Ref) "More than 2000 entries include such recent developments and actors as al-Qaeda, the Taliban, and Osama bin Laden, all in straightforward writing. Defines key terms in Islamic religion, ritual, theology, philosophy, law, history, art, and culture." (LJ review)

A Dictionary of Buddhism BQ 130 .K46x 2003 (Ref) "Oxford's ... dictionary ... treats doctrines, practices, biography, scriptures, schools and sects, art, architecture, and more [in] more than 2,000 entries." (Booklist)

General Religion Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed., 2005 "The second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia, intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of the first edition's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century" (Publisher's e-book description).  

Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States, 2nd ed., 2013 "Leading scholars present entries on selected controversies and controversial individuals in American religious life from the colonial period to the present. Key figures, themes, terms, institutions and groups, books, and relevant secular topics that have contributed to religious controversy are included." (Publisher)

New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2d ed., 2003 Excellent online access to well-known resource on all aspects of Catholicism.

Oxford Reference Online  More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated. See listing of religious dictionaries and encyclopedias by selecting Religion on the main site. This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

The Catholic Encyclopedia (New Advent) A second, but also authoritative, major source of information not only about Roman Catholic doctrine but also of non-theological subjects likely to be of interest to Catholics.

Encyclopedia of American Religious History, 3rd ed. BL2525.Q44 2009 (Ref)
A 3-volume update that "encompasses the growing importance of information about religion in U.S. politics, society, and culture since earlier editions. ... Articles range from short paragraphs to several pages in length, are signed, and provide mostly secondary bibliographies that include World Wide Web sites. The cross-referencing is extensive" (Syndetics).

Encyclopedia of Religion in America BL 2520 .E52 2010 (Ref)

"This authoritative four-volume reference work explores the origins, development, influence, and interrelations of the many faiths practiced in North America, including major world religions and emerging sects, cults and movements."

Encyclopaedia Judaica DS 102.8 .E496 (General Stacks)
Scholarly but still accessible English-language encyclopedia of Jewish religion and life. The index is the first, not the last volume of the set. Addressed to the non-Jewish as well as the Jewish reader. Many illustrations, selective bibliographies, and capsule entries on outstanding Jews in many subjects.

Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America, 3 vols. BL 458 .E52 2006 (Central Ref) Topical essays, not biographical or brief descriptive entries, integrating four decades of women and religion worldwide. The editors wanted to "focus on institutions, movements, and ideas." (Introduction).

The New Encyclopedia of Islam, 3rd ed. BP 40 .G42  2008 (Ref)  "The acclaimed New Encyclopedia of Islam comprehensively encompasses the beliefs, practices, history, and culture of the Islamic world in a single, scholarly volume. Now consisting of over 1400 entries, it has been fully revised and contains a wide range of new entries covering the contemporary Islamic scene."