Skip to main content

Global & International Studies: Article Databases

Other Avenues to Articles

There are several other full-text databases that you might search.

Finding Articles in Languages other than English

A few of these indexes also provide some or complete full-text access to articles. Most of the following databases allow you to limit your search to English only or non-English citations but some permit more specific language options. Sometimes you will need to choose the advanced search option in order to see how you can limit a search by language.

AGRICOLA. Set limit to English or non-English.

America: History and Life. Click the browse button to see the many languages available.

Art Abstracts. Set limit to English or non-English.

Art Index Retrospective. Enter the language name in the search box and choose Language of Document in the drop down menu. Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish, Swedish are available.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (Web of Science) In the Full Search set search limits to many specific languages.

Arts and Humanities Search. (FirstSearch) Set limit to English or non-English.

ATLA Religion. Set limit to English or non-English.

Biological and Agricultural Index. Set limit to English or non-English.

BIOSIS Previews. Click the "Change" button to set search limits. Choose one of the many languages. Click OK.

CINAHL. Set limit to English or non-English.

Criminal Justice Abstracts. In the advanced keyword search choose "Language" from the drop down menu after "in" and enter the language in the search box.

Digital Dissertations. Enter the language in the search box and choose "Language" from the drop down menu after "in."

ECO (Electronic Collections Online). Enter the language in the search box and choose "Language" from the drop down menu.

Ei Compendex Plus. Click the "Change" button to set search limits. Choose one of the many languages, including sub-fields of engineering. Click OK.

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management. Choose "Language" from the drop down menu and enter the language in the search box.

ERIC. Set limit to English, non-English, or multi-lingual.

Ethnic NewsWatch. This database is searchable in Spanish. Language of Article can be specified in the advance search (English, Spanish, Bilingual.) The Ethnic Group may also be specified.

Fact Search. Set limit to English or non-English.

GeoRef. Set limit to Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, or Spanish.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. This database can be searched in English, Spanish, or Portuguese. Though most of the materials are in Spanish, the subject terms and annotations are mostly in English. Place names may be in English or the vernacular.

Historical Abstracts. Click the browse button to see the many languages available.

Humanities Abstracts. Set limit to English or non-English.

Index to Legal Periodicals and Books. Set limit to English or non-English.

Inspec. Set limit to English or non-English.

Library Literature. Set limit to English or non-English.

MEDLINE. Set limit to English or non-English.

Metadex. In the Advanced Search choose "Language" from the drop down menu and enter the language in the search box.

MLA Bibliography. Set limit to English or non-English.

Music Index Online. In the Expert search, limit to one of many languages.

PAIS International. Set limit to English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, or Various.

Paperchem. Set limit to Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Russian, or Spanish.

Philosopher's Index. Click the "Change" button to set search limits. Choose one of the many languages. Click OK.

ProceedingsFirst. Set limit to English or non-English.

PsycINFO. Set limit to English or non-English.

Repére. French language periodicals published in Quebec. Search in French.

RILM Music Abstracts. Set limit to English, French, German, Italian, Polish, Russian, or Spanish.

Science Citation Index Expanded. (Web of Science) In the Full Search set search limits to many specific languages.

Social Sciences Citation Index. (Web of Science) In the Full Search set search limits to many specific languages.

Sociological Abstracts. Set limit to English or non-English.

Union Lists of Periodicals. Set limit to English or All Languages.

Web of Science. In the Full Search set search limits to many specific languages.

Wilson Select Plus. Set limit to English or non-English.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In the Advanced search choose "Language" from the drop down menu and enter the language in the search box.

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable's picture
Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1012
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Fall 2017:By appointment
Website / Blog Page