MATH 3520: Teaching Elementary School Mathematics: Journal Articles
About this guide
Sources selected for this guide have been chosen for students enrolled in the Math3520 class. The resources selected for this guide are not intended to be an exhaustive list. It is likely you will need to consult other guides when doing research for your program. You may also consider setting up a phone or skype appointment with the librarian for more in depth assistance on research projects. Contact information is on the right.
Getting articles in full text
The databases listed in the box to the right include many, but not all, articles in full text. For information on how to get the full text of an article when it is not immediately available in the database you are in see the tab in this guide labelled "Delivery of Books and Articles."
Core databases
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowIndexes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers and trade publications in a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Full-text available for over 2,500 journals. Coverage from 1857.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This service from Google searches scholarly literature, including articles, theses, books and technical reports, and "gray literature" from many areas of research. Some materials are free, some will be available to WMU users by clicking on "Article Linker" while others may require a fee. Use this source in addition to library databases for a more complete search of scholarly literature.
To enable links from the "Find it@WMU" from off-campus computers, follow these instructions or watch a video tutorial :
1. Go to Google Scholar.
2. Click on the "options" wheel in the top right corner.
3. Select "Library Links" from menu on the left side.
4. In the "Library Links" search box, type "Western Michigan University Libraries".
5. Click the checkbox next to "Western Michigan University Libraries (ArticleLinker)".
6. Click the "Save".
8. A link to "ArticleLinker" should now appear next to those citations that are available electronically from the Libraries.
In class assignment
- Beginning Library Research & APA Citation AssignmentAssignment to be completed during class.
