- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- HIST 6440: Material Culture
- Find Streaming Videos
HIST 6440: Material Culture
Streaming Video Databases
The streaming video databases linked below contain thousands of documentaries and other films to enhance your research. To find a video on your topic, skim the database descriptions below, choose one that most closely matches your topic, and search within that database using keywords related to your topic.
- Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Video is a single cross-searchable platform in which users have a completely integrated online repository of WMU subscribed or owned Alexander Street video titles.
American History in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Dance in Video
Education in Video
Ethnographic Video Online
Filmaker's Library Online
Opera in Video
Theatre in Video
VAST: Academic Video Online
World History in Video - American History in Video (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
A searchable and browsable database including approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. When complete it is expected to contain more than 2,000 hours of newsreel footage.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
- Black Studies Center (formerly Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This multimedia database contains essays and articles, a timeline, videos, and images of the African experience throughout the Americas. This database is cross-searchable with journals, newspapers, dissertations, and other relevant content including the International Index to Black Periodicals Full-Text, the Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender.
- World History in Video This link opens in a new windowSearchable and browsable collection of videos about all historical eras in World History. This growing collection contains approximately 1,000 titles and more than 700 hours of streaming video documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.
Alexander Street Press Titles
Alexander Street Press Video Collections include American History in Video, Dance in Video, Counseling and Therapy in Video, Education in Video, Theater in Video, and Opera in Video. Follow the directions below to create a link which can be embedded in an online class or webpage.
- Select the desired collection, and identify the video you want to link to.
- Click the Embed / Link icon below the video window.
- A new window will open displaying the URL for the video. Copy the entire URL.
- You may now paste this link into your desired location.
Links and embed codes are automatically configured to include the proxy prefix.
Online Instructional Videos and Films
The following digital video collections offer you thousands of documentaries and other films to enhance your research. You may be amazed at what you will discover here.
Meet Your Librarian
