WMU Research Guides: Economics: Article Databases

About this guide

Sources selected for this guide have been chosen for students taking classes in the Department of Economics. Because of the interdisciplinary nature of research in the field of Economics it may be helpful to consult other subject guides in addition to this one. You may also consider setting up an appointment with the librarian for more in depth assistance on research projects. Contact information is on the right.

Core databases

ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text and the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
ABI stands for Abstracted Business Information. There was a database building project going on at the University of Wisconsin named Inform and the creators of ABI obtained the Inform software, materials, and customer list. Therefore, the name became ABI/INFORM.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.

NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

Additional databases

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes popular magazines, scholarly journals, newspapers and trade publications in a wide range of subject areas, including business, education, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Full-text available for over 2,500 journals. Coverage from 1857.

Newspapers:

Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A U.S. daily financial newspaper that covers news and trends relating to business, industry, finance, the economy, and international commerce. Provides extensive price and other data for securities, commodity, options, futures, foreign exchange, and money markets. Full text from 1984 to Current.

Microfilm: HG 5 on the Lower Level, 2012-2017.
New York Times Digital edition This link opens in a new window
Access World News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
Newsstream - US This link opens in a new window
Newsbank This link opens in a new window

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a good source for picking up a variety of articles in journals and may contain links to articles in subscriptions we have purchased. You will need to search the Library's databases to to obtain a fuller array of articles.