Skip to main content

Digital Humanities: Examples of DH Projects

DigHum at WMU

At WMU

Some of these projects are more elaborate than other when it comes to providing tools fro textual analysis. Some are done solely here at WMU while others are collaborative projects.

  • Michigan Manual of Freedman's Progress http://www.wmich.edu/library/digi/collections/freedmen/  Michigan Manual of Freedmen's Progress' book, 1915 edition, fully digitized including photographs, charts, and searchable text in pdf format.
  • Cistercian Liturgical Research Resources from the Cistercian Studies Collection at WMU http://www.wmich.edu/library/digi/collections/liturgy/
    Contains the full run of the journal edited by Father Chrysogonus Waddell of Gethsemani Abbey, Trappist, KY, Cistercian Liturgy Series, and selections from the Chrysogonous Waddell Archive.
  • World War II Propoganda Collection http://www.wmich.edu/library/digi/collections/mowen/index.php The Howard Mowen Collection and the Edwin W. Polk Collection are two significant donations that now form a unified collection of Nazi German and Allies publications, photographs, and ephemera known as the N.S.D.A.P. Collection.
  • Costume History Collection http://www.wmich.edu/library/digi/collections/costume/ This collection is currently comprised of four books housed in the Special Collections and Rare Books Room of Waldo Library. Each of these books illustrates aspects of dress from the mid-18th century to the mid-19th century
  • Relaçión general Commentarios de Álvar Nv'ñez Cabeça de Vaca (Early Americas, Medieval Spanish Documents) A Spanish Department collaborative grant project which includes two Cabeza de Vaca transcriptions of 16th century manuscripts at the Early Americas Digital Archive.
  • Gower Project http://www.gowerproject.com/  The Gower Project is a network of international scholars linked through Web sites in the UK, Canada, and the US. Our collaboration aims to evaluate the effects of hypertext on studying John Gower's fourteenth-century poems written in Anglo-Latin, Anglo-Norman, and Middle English. The Gower Project promotes study and research offering explicitly theorized approaches to highlight the sophistication and relevance of Gower's poems.

DigHum Elsewhere

Here are a few select examples outside of WMU.  You may want to look at Center Net's clearinghouse of dighum centers around the world.

  • Quijote Interactivo  http://quijote.bne.es/libro.html  an interactive digitization of the original edition of Miguel de Cervantes’ cult 1605-1615 novel, Don Quixote.
  • University of Virginia Spatial Humanities  http://spatial.scholarslab.org/  GIS for humanities inquiry and in place-based digital scholarship.
  • Standford Literary Lab: http://litlab.stanford.edu/ The Stanford Literary Lab discusses, designs, and pursues literary research of a digital and quantitative nature.
  • Victorian Womens Writers Project http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/vwwp/welcome.do The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
  • The French Book Trade in Enlightenment Europe, 1769-1794 http://chop.leeds.ac.uk/stn/ The French Book Trade in Enlightenment Europe project uses database technology to map the trade of the Société Typographique de Neuchâtel (STN), a celebrated Swiss publishing house that operated between 1769 and 1794.
  • The Willa Cather Archive http://cather.unl.edu/ The Willa Cather Archive is an ambitious endeavor to create a rich, useful, and widely-accessible site for the study of Willa Cather's life and writings. To that end, we are providing digital editions of Cather texts and scholarship free to the public as well as creating a large amount of unique, born-digital scholarly content.