Graphic Novels, Comics, and Manga
Scholarly Articles
Finding Scholarly Articles
Use a a combination of search terms and search fields to find articles.
Fore example, the MLA refers to subject terms as “descriptors,” and the descriptor for graphic novels is comic book. Search also by individual writer or artist name.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An additional bibliography to search besides the MLA Bibliography for scholarship about English language and literature. This resource indexes research by broad subject, by chronological period, and by scholars' names. Author search is more effective than subject search.
- Education Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full-text, indexing, and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.
- Gale Literary Sources (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Gale Literary Sources brings together Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, LitFinder, and Something About the Author into a single cross searchable platform.
More
The Bonn Online Bibliography for Comics Research is an international bibliographic database for scholarly literature about comics, graphic novels, manga and related fields.
The Grand Comics Database (GCD) is a fully searchable and includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information useful to the comic-book reader, fan, collector, and scholar.
Humanities Librarian
