Medieval Studies: Article Databases
Discipline-based Databases
These general databased may include articles which address the Middle Ages.
- Voice of the ShuttleA compilation of academic websites for all humanities subjects.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full-text is provided for articles and reviews from more than 300 journals selected by leading religion scholars. Also provides 1.7 million citations to journals and edited books as well as book reviews in the field of religious studies. Updated twice a year.
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Records over 23,000 Christian art works in worldwide collections from early apostolic times until the sixteenth century. Records include subject and stylistic descriptors, school, object type, bibliographies and picture references, cross references, locations, and digital images, when available.
- Philosopher's IndexZ 7127 .P47x (Ref) Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other publications on philosophy covering ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, and logic as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. Coverage: 1940-date. Updated quarterly.
Core Resources
Article databases and web portals developed by various institutions and consortia. Scholarly editions of texts available electronically are listed under Library Collections, though these resources may contain some translations and transcriptions.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in journals and other publications about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa within the dates 400-1500 AD. Coverage from 1967 to Current.
This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
- Regesta Imperii OPACThe search features and help for this source are in English or German. It combines two important resources: one of the largest databases for European History from Late Antiquity to the Renaissance (16th century). Over 650.000 entries include titles of all relevant disciplines (archaeology, history, art, literature, music, philosophy, languages, theology etc.); titles from the year 1500 up to today.
- International Encyclopaedia for the Middle AgesBased upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 articles cover all aspects of medieval studies between 300 to 1500. Covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa includes enhanced data with English normalizedwhere possible to the Library of Congress subject classification and other standards.
- NetSerf- Medieval Resources(Catholic University of America) Medieval resources, including much full-text, grouped by subject category.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.
The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.
- Project MUSEProject MUSE offers more than 400 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.
- Medieval and Renaissance WebThe European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries. This site is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in all aspects of the Western Middle Ages and the Renaissance.
Google Scholar
Select Specialized Databases
These databases cater to specific research interests and give some flavor of the vast range of interdisciplinary material available.
- Alchemical Manuscript DatabaseLists of about 4000 manuscripts from over 100 libraries includes most of the major collections of such manuscripts. Not exclusively medieval or scholarly.
- Archives de littérature du Moyen ÂgeScholarly information on texts, authors and manuscripts of the Middle Ages.
- FemininaeFeminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- Jordanus, An International Catalog of Medieval Scientific Manuscripts(Institute for the History of Science in Munich, and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science in Berlin) Provides "information about mediaeval manuscripts written in Western Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D. which treat the mathematical sciences in the wider sense, i.e. arithmetic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry and mechanics."
- Medieval and Early Modern DatabankSelection of economic data for the Middle Ages sponsored by Rutgers University.
- Monastic MatrixMonastic Matrix - scholarly resources for studying women's communities 400-1600.