Streaming Video Sources
WMU Streaming Collections
A list of all the streaming video databases available through WMU Libraries is available on the databases page. This is an alphabetical list, that can also be sorted by subject using the dropdown box in the top left of the screen. Most individual titles in our streaming video collections are also available through LibrarySearch. Seach by topic, and use the "books and media" button above the search box. With the search results displayed, look for the "Resource Type" category in the left hand column, and select "Audiovisual."
Use the tabs on the left to find collections by subject area.
General / Interdisciplinary Collections
- Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Video is a single cross-searchable platform in which users have a completely integrated online repository of WMU subscribed or owned Alexander Street video titles.
American History in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video
Dance in Video
Education in Video
Ethnographic Video Online
Filmaker's Library Online
Opera in Video
Theatre in Video
VAST: Academic Video Online
World History in Video - Docuseek + Global Environmental Justice This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 Complete Collection includes over 1,5000 recent and popular documentaries from independent producers including Icarus Films, Bullfrog Films, and others. The Global Environmental Justice collection (currently 25 films) is curated by faculty from major universities on subjects ranging from the hidden costs of fast fashion in Asia and forest preservation in Tibet to inner-city environmental issues in the US.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 20,000 streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 streaming videos in the BASE subscription, plus over 100 videos selected by WMU teaching faculty to support the curriculum at Western Michigan University. Films and documentaries in this collection range from core curricular subjects like Race and Class Studies, Sociology and Education, to subjects that cater to the whole student like Mental Health, Psychology, and Health and Fitness.
If prompted to log in on the Kanopy site, choose Find Your University, then enter Western Michigan University and log in with your Bronco NetID name and password.
Currently, University Libraries is restricting additions to this collection to titles requested by our instructors. Instructor requests should be made using the form (on the Kanopy platform) that says the film is not yet available. Please include the course number(s) and semesters the film will be used in the form's message box. Requests will be addressed within 24 hours. Alternative unmediated streaming video options are available.
- Cultural and Academic Films from the Moving image ArchiveExcellent collection of nonfiction films including many historical titles as well as topics ranging from politics to art to mathematics and medicine.
WMU Instructional Video Collection
WMU Libraries collections contain over 3000 DVDs, videotapes and films. This is a multi-disciplinary instructional collection housing items on subjects such as psychology, engineering, art and design, environmental sciences, history, foreign language materials, communication, and education. You can locate instructional videos using the LibrarySearch system, and limiting results to the Resource Type of audio-visual.