Music
A guide to resources for study and research in Music
Meet Your Librarian
Michael Duffy
Librarian:
Michael Duffy
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
Professor
Fine Arts Librarian
1051 Waldo Library
Pronouns: he/him/his
During the Fall and Spring semesters, I am generally available
most Mondays and Wednesdays from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Recital Hall Lobby or Ticket Office in Dalton Center and
most Thursdays from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. in the Student Lounge in Richmond Center.
I may be available at other times by appointment.
(269) 387-5236
Website
Music Publishers & Licensing Organizations
- Music Publishers AssociationDirectory of music publishers, copyright resources, links.
- American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP)Licensing and royalty distribution for the non-dramatic performance of music.
- BMICollects fees from companies that use music and pays royalties to songwriters, performers, and publishers.
The Music Industry
Books on the music industry are located at ML 3790. Here are a couple:
The Music Business and Recording Industry by
The Music Business and Recording Industry is a comprehensive music business textbook focused on the three income streams in the music industry: music publishing, live entertainment, and recordings. The book provides a sound foundation for understanding key issues, while presenting the latest research in the field. It covers the changes in the industry brought about by the digital age, such as changing methods of distributing and accessing music and new approaches in marketing with the Internet and mobile applications. New developments in copyright law are also examined, along with the global and regional differences in the music business.
Call Number: ML3790 .H84 2011 (Music and Dance General Stacks)ISBN: 9780415875608Publication Date: 2010-11-09
Musician's Business and Legal Guide by
Definitive in scope and written specifically for musicians and songwriters by top professionals currently working in the industry, this book demystifies the music business and the indecipherable body of law which shapes it, and provides substantive information on actual practices--with clause-by-clause commentaries on all major contracts in the industry. Requires no background in law or business and is written in plain English, not "legalese. Includes relevant forms. Follows the typical development of a musician's career--Getting Started, Music as a Business; Protecting Your Compositions; Music Publishing; Performing and Marketing; Managers and Agents; and Recording. Features up-to-date internet-related coverage (including full chapters on Digital Distribution of Music Over the Internet: Legal Issues; International Copyright Issues; and Artist Rights). An appendix includes names; URL and mailing addresses of major industry associations and organizations; a list of the important industry publications. For musicians.
Call Number: ML3790 .M84 2008 (Music and Dance General Stacks)ISBN: 0132281279Publication Date: 2007-02-15
About Copyright
Music users often have questions about copyright. The resources listed on this page can answer many questions about copyright and fair use.
Generally, in the U.S., music published before 1923 is in the public domain, or no longer under copyright. Music published since that date is protected by copyright.
However, essentially no sound recordings are in the public domain in the United States: All recordings made on February 15, 1972 or later are under United States Federal Copyright, even if the music itself is in the public domain. Recordings made before February 15, 1972 are protected by various State Laws.
Many uses of copyrighted material are permitted, especially for educational purposes. This is known as fair use.
Copyright Resources
Books on copyright are located at KF 3035 in the Music and Dance Library and Waldo Library. Some online resources:
- Best Practices in the Fair Use of Copyrighted Materials in Music ScholarshipGuidelines from the American Musicological Society.
- Know Your Copy Rights (Association of Research Libraries)Information about using copyrighted materials, including music and audio and video formats, in teaching. Free guide available for download.
- Music Library Association Copyright GuideInformation about using copyrighted materials in teaching and libraries. FAQs about audio and video, performance rights, library reserves, etc.
- PDInfo - Public Domain MusicIncludes a library of public domain (out of copyright) sheet music and copyright information.
- U.S. Copyright OfficeInformation about copyright, application forms, etc. for registering works, links to related sites.
- Federal Copyright Law (Cornell University)Cornell's Legal Information Institute provides full text of the federal copyright statutes, in Title 17 of the United States Code, along with accompanying notes.
- The Basics of Getting [Copyright] Permission (Stanford University)A guide to requesting permission to use works protected by copyright.