Music
A guide to resources for study and research in Music
Books about Popular Songs
Books about popular songs are primarily at these call numbers: ML1600-1651; ML2400-2551; ML2800-2881.
Some primary resources:
Hit Songs, 1900-1955 by Call Number: ML128.P63 T95 2007 (Reference)ISBN: 9780786429462Publication Date: 2007-03-30
Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America by Call Number: ML128.P63 L57 1996 (Reference)ISBN: 0816032386Publication Date: 1996-03-01
American Song by Call Number: ML128.M78 B6 1996 (Reference)ISBN: 0028704843Publication Date: 1996-04-17
Charts
Top 10 Pop Hits by Call Number: ML156.4.P6 W487 2011ISBN: 9780898201871Publication Date: 2011-04-01There are many similar books on charts at and around this call number.
Christmas Carols
Christmas carols are in the library at M 2065 (accompanied) and M 2085 (unaccompanied).
Finding Songs
You can use the library catalog to find a specific song. The best way is to search the song title as a phrase.
Popular songs are usually in collections at these call numbers:
- M1627 Folk, national, ethnic
- M1628-1677 United States
- M1678-1850 Other countries, by continent/region
- M1900-1998 Specific groups and topics
Some primary song indexes:
Popular Song Index by Call Number: ML128.S3 H4 (Reference)ISBN: 081080820XPublication Date: 1975-10-01Lists over 35,000 songs in more than 700 collections. Folk, popular, children's, hymns, spirituals, blues included.- SongCite by Call Number: ML128.S3 G65x 1995 (Reference)ISBN: 0815320590Publication Date: 1995-07-01Lists thousands of songs published in collections. Supplements the Popular Song Index (above).
The Green Book of Songs by Subject by Call Number: ML156.4.P6 G73 2002 (Reference)ISBN: 0939735105Publication Date: 2002-07-01
Sheet Music Collections
Songs published singly are usually in sheet music format. Sources for sheet music:
Sheet Music Collection - Music & Dance Library
A title index to the library's sheet music collection is in the card catalog near the computer stations. Request songs at the service desk.
ONLINE collections:
Streaming Audio
- Music Online: Popular Music Library This link opens in a new windowPopular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
- Songs of AmericaAmerican history through songs. Recordings, essays, articles. From the Library of Congress.
Song Lyrics
National Anthems
- National AnthemsMP3 files and lyrics.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowAccess almost 700,000 tracks from over 47,000 CDs from 300 labels, including the entire Naxos catalog. Includes classical, world, folk, and new age. Features text resources such as music terms, a pronunciation guide, opera synopses and libretti, historical notes, and more.
Encyclopedia of National Anthems by Call Number: M1627 .E53 2011 (Reference)ISBN: 9780810876620Publication Date: 2011-08-23
