Last Updated: Mar 19, 2014
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is available online through the link below. Paper copies are also available in the Government Documents area of Wlado Library,
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
Produced by the US Bureau of labor Statistics. This is an extremely valuable tool when starting to explore careers. It includes information on work environment, educational requirements, pay, etc. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
Newspaper and journal articles can be valuable sources of information as you start to investiate career optionsand job opportunities.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- General Business File ASAP
An index of business publications that includes trade publications, newspapers, journals, broker research reports, and company profiles, some articles with full text and images. Coverage 1980 - present.
- LexisNexis Guided News Search
Comprehensive full text database covering national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, and international news, including non-English language sources.
- Michigan Newspapers
Search or browse more than 80 newspapers from Michigan, including the Kalamazoo Gazette, Detroit News, Flint journal, Grand Rapids Press, the Western Herald, and more. Starting coverage dates vary from 1997 to 2010.
- Access World News
Find full-text of current and archived state, national and international news articles in this collection of over 4500 newspapers and other news sources. It includes the majority of the top circulating U.S. newspapers, along with thousands of local and regional titles.
- Going Global
Find employment and career information for the US and abroad. Includes country career guides, USA/Canada city guides, corporate profiles, more than 100,000 international internship and job openings, information about work permits, visa regulations, and more.