- University Libraries Databases
- WMU Research Guides
- Data Science
- Statistical Data Sources
Data Science
For more statistical data sources
For more statistical data sources, please check out the Data and Statistical Sources guide by our Natural Sciences librarian Carrie Leatherman.
International & Cross-disciplinary Statistics Sources
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to and archives of social science data. Areas of research range from crime, to economic indicators, to consumer behavior, and health information. Members of the Western Michigan community are eligible to access and download the data. When accessing certain data, users will be asked to either break out of the proxy and log in with their Google or Facebook account, or remain inside the proxy and create/log in with a MyData account here.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 90 billion data points from dozens of licensed and public domain datasets. Scan the contents of the collection, select subjects and variables of interest, and view your data in side-by-side tables and charts. Results are instantaneous and can be easily exported.
Now includes State Stats, formerly on the Sage Stats platform
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for user-friendly statistical tables and infographics on more than 80,000 topics drawn from over 22,500 sources, covering market and consumer data and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- UNdataLarge searchable index to much of the datasets and statistics produced by the United Nations agencies.
- World Bank Data SiteProvides tons of datasets about development in countries around the world.
United States Statistical Sources
- Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowU.S. government census data grouped into categories such as people, business, geography, and others. Data files are available as well as prepared tables.
- County and City Data BookPDF files of data from this 2007 edition.
- DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
DemographicsNow provides users with ready-to-use and customizable demographic data reports that include population, income, housing, race, age, education, businesses and retail sales, consumer expenditures and more.
- The Integrated Postsecondary Education Data SystemRepository of Federal data on institutions of higher learning.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports using current and historical census data and demographic information to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
This subscription is limited to three simultaneous users. Please log out when finished.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States, with some international content. It is also used as a guide to other statistical publications and sources. Each table will identify the original agency that produced the data. Use the agency web link to find additional information on your topic. Coverage varies. Coverage is from 2013-present.
- U.S. Data and StatisticsBasic data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Business Statistics
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisGreat source of economic data and statistics on the U.S. and international economy. The Survey of Current Business is a rich resource going back to 1921.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsFederal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
- Bureau of Transportation StatisticsFrom the Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
- County Business PatternsCBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.
- FRED - Federal Reserve Economic DataContains many time-series data sets covering U.S. and international money, banking, business and employment.
- International Financial Statistics (IMF)Get basic economic data for most countries of the world for the past 3-4 years.
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) This link opens in a new window
NOTE: WRDS is upgrading account security by utilizing Two-Factor Authentication (2FA) by Duo Security. To learn more about WRDS two-factor authentication, please visit the following links:
How to Log In to WRDS Using WRDS 2FA by Duo
WRDS 2FA by Duo FAQ
Duo Security's Enrollment Guide
WRDS provides WMU users with over 50 datasets across multiple disciplines including accounting, banking, economics, finance, healthcare, insurance, marketing, statistics, and more. Users must create an account with their @wmich.edu email address.
First-time users must request approval for an account by clicking Register at the top of the WRDS home page. Account approval is mediated, which will cause a time delay between requesting access and receiving a confirmation message. There are several account types. You can click here for a complete list and description of account types.
WMU users who otherwise do not qualify for any of the listed account types can register for an Access Pass here. Accessing the WRDS platform through this method does not provide disk storage or access to the WRDS computing cloud.
Classroom Tools by WRDS is a teaching and learning toolkit designed specifically for faculty who are introducing finance and business concepts in the classroom.