Skip to main content

Education, Educational Leadership, & Special Education: Lesson Plans

Google Scholar

Don't forget about Google!  Google Scholar in particular can be very useful if used to its fullest potential.

Click here for a brief tutorial of how best to search in Google Scholar.

Lesson Plans and Related Web Resources

Title:  A to Z Teacher Stuff For Teachers FREE online lesson plans,

Title: Discovery Education Lesson Plans Library  Select plans by a wide variety of subjects and by grade levels. Discovery Education is a division of Discovery Communications, LLC the leading global nonfiction media company. The leader in digital video-based learning, Discovery Education produces and distributes high-quality digital resources in easy-to-use formats in all core-curricular subject areas.

Title: edHelper Lesson Plans  Includes a wide variety of plans, for foreign languages, word puzzles, mathematics, writing, and themed plans.

Title: Education Planet  - Helps teachers, students, and parents find online educational resources. Also includes forums, teacher training, and sites of the week.

Title: Elementary Teacher Resources.com - Elementary lessons plans -  Includes reading, writing, arts, science, math, and professional readings for teachers.

Title: ENC (Eisenhower National Clearinghouse) Online  Science and mathematics lessons and activities. Choose your connection to explore this site for the best selection of K-12 mathematics and science resources on the Internet.     Librarian's Comment: The Theory Into Practice Database -- TIP is a tool intended to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. These theories can also be accessed by learning domains and concepts.

Title: Gateway to Education Materials (GEM)  Searchable gateway to over 4853 resources including Internet lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources, browsable by keyword or subject. (Sponsored by The U.S. Department of Education's National Library of Education and a special project of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Information & Technology.

Title:  HotChalk Lessonplans LessonPlansPage.com is a collection of more than 4,000 free, teacher-approved lesson plans. LessonPlansPage.com was developed to support educators by providing ready-to-use lesson plans in the classroom, at camp, for homeschooling — for students in preschool through high school.

Title: Lesson Plans and Teaching Strategies
Description: Site includes a variety of links to social studies lesson plans.

Title:  Lesson Plans for Teachers  LessonPlans.com was originally founded by Stephen Lyons in 1997. Stephen created and maintained the website with the ultimate goal of providing resources that all educators would find useful, with a particular focus on helping teachers in the process of developing exemplary lesson plans.

Title: LessonPlanz.com  LessonPlanz.com is searchable directory of free online lesson plans and lesson plan resources for all grades and subjects.  Added July 2008

Title: Michigan lesson plans from Local.com

Title: National Science Foundation Classroom Resources  This collection of lessons and web resources is aimed at classroom teachers, their students, and students' families. Most of these resources come from the National Science Digital Library (NSDL). NSDL is the National Science Foundation's online library of resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.

Title: New York Times Learning Network Lesson Plans  A collection of lesson plans divided into sixteen subject areas including American history, fine arts, science, and current events.

Title: Pro Teacher Community - Includes teachng resources, blogs, bulletin boards, advice to new teachers, themed lesson plans and materials,and more.

Title:  ReadWriteThink Lesson Plans  We have hundreds of standards-based lesson plans written and reviewed by educators using current research and the best instructional practices. Find the perfect one for your classroom.

Title: Scholastic.com  Offers a wide variery of plans, plus a search engine and a large number of themed lesson plans for holidays

Title: ISTEM: Lesson Plans  The goal of the Indiana STEM Network (ISTEM) is to help Indiana become a national leader in student academic achievement in STEM disciplines. This section of their well-thought out website provides a wealth of information on excellent lesson plans crafted by their team of experts. Currently the site has over 300 of these plans, organized by intended audience, target grade level, and subject. The Recently Added area is a great place to start and it contains fun explorations, such as Variables Lesson, Bar Graphs: A Statistical Skyline, and I've Seen That Shape Before. Those persons looking for highly recommended resources should look at the Most Recommended resources for items that have received high marks from peer reviewers.

Title: TeacherVision Lesson Plans  TeacherVision® is dedicated to helping teachers save time. Find 22,000 pages of classroom-ready lesson plans, printables, and resources.

Title: Teaching Channel  The tagline of Teaching Channel is "Great Teaching. Inspiring Classrooms." Educators from kindergarten to college will find hundreds of resources here, including fact sheets, lesson plans, videos, and blogs to help them in the classroom. First-time visitors will need to fill out a short free registration to get started. After this, users can click on left-hand side of the page to browse through Topics that include planning, class culture, behavior, engagement, and assessment. The materials are also arranged by subject and grade level. The Featured Videos area is a delight as well, as it contains dozens of offerings, such as "Carbon Cycling: Create Your Own Biology Lab" and "Reading Like a Historian." Finally, the high-quality blog posts are thoughtful and erudite, including offerings like "Setting Goals for 2012: Where Do You Start?" and "10 Common Core 'Ah-Ha' Moments."

Subject Guide

Michele Behr's picture
Michele Behr
Contact:
Swain Education Library
2810 Sangren Hall
michele.behr@wmich.edu
269-387-5611