Skip to main content

WMU Libraries in the Age of the Internet: Collections and Access

Presentation to the Emeriti Council, May 2016

Welcome

The resources in this guide have been selected to illustrate the variety of media and content included in the current WMU Libraries collections physically, and electronically. Many of these resources may also be useful for  personal research as well as recreational interests. WMU Libraries always welcomes emeriti to visit in person, however we also provide many resources which are accessible from the comfort of home.

WMU Libraries

WMU librarians, including those at the WMU Archives and Regional History, and other branch libraries can answer questions and assist you in finding information. Click the links above for the Ask a Librarian service to contact us by instant message (IM), e-mail, or phone.

Michigan Electronic Library and MELcat

The state of Michigan provides the Michigan Electronic Library which includes online dictionaries, encyclopedias, article databases, newspapers, as well as resources on health, careers, and many other areas.

In addition MELCat is a shared catalog that includes materials from nearly all Michigan academic and public libraries. MELCat includes books, CDs, DVDs and more. You may request materials either using your WMU credentials, or your public library card to for delivery at your library. 

Other Guides of Interest

LibrarySearch

To locate books, e-books, videos, music, and other materials in the WMU Library collections use the  LibrarySearch box. LibrarySearch replaces the previous versions of the Libraries' catalog, and is the most comprehensive source for searching physical collections, as well as licensed electronic resources.

Find books, articles, and more at WMU

What is ScholarWorks?

ScholarWorks at WMU is a digital showcase of the research, scholarly and creative output of members of the Western Michigan University community. The ScholarWorks repository is administered by the WMU Libraries and serves as a permanent digital archive for these materials.

 There are two components of ScholarWorks at WMU.

ScholarWorks, the repository of scholarly works contains actual content - uploaded articles, papers, posters, newsletters, images, etc. by WMU faculty, students and staff, or content that the WMU faculty has worked with in some way. This is organized by department or other unit at the univeristy.

SelectedWorks Author Gallery contains individual pages for WMU faculty, staff and graduate students. This provides a place to enter an online curriculum vita with publications, presentations, awards, areas of specialty, etc. If there is full text available, that will be linked, otherwise there is just a citation.

For more information visit the online guide for ScholarWorks.

Digital Collections

A complete list of digitized collections at WMU can be found on the Libraries website. Most digitized resources can also be found using the library catalog LibrarySearch.

A few collections of interest are:

Research & Instruction Librarian

Michele Behr's picture
Michele Behr
Contact:
Swain Education Library
2810 Sangren Hall
michele.behr@wmich.edu
269-387-5611