Last Updated: Jul 2, 2014
Search this collection of engineering ebooks for background on your topic.
Type in some keywords relating to your topic and hit the search button.
The top two resources are essential starting places for searching for information on any engineering topic. The bottom two resources are good places for getting a general sense of engineering concepts.
- Engineering Village
Engineering Village features access to the Compendex and PaperChem databases.
- Knovel Engineering eReference Books
Knovel Engineering e-books provides access to hundreds of authoritative engineering reference books providing materials property data and industrial process information with interactive capabilities that include data searching and retrieval into Excel, interactive graphing, unit conversion and a widget that makes it easy to access and use these features from anywhere.
- Engineering Case Studies Online
Search for information on various engineering failures, such as Three Mile Island, the Challenger disaster, the Titanic sinking, and others. Includes video documentation, research monographs and accident reports, personal testimonials, simulations, blueprints, and more.
- Films on Demand - Engineering Collection
A collection of streaming videos of varying length (5-45 minutes long) covering major engineering topic areas - bioengineering, chemical/ civil/ electrical/ environmental/ industrial/ mechanical & aerospace engineering, as well as computer science. These can be linked to or embedded within your course websites and Elearning pages.
- Films on Demand - Technology & Society Video Collection
A collection of streaming videos of varying length (5-45 minutes long) covering the effects of technology on society, the nature and history of technology, and the engineering design process. These can be linked to or embedded within your course websites and Elearning pages.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
This database often has good references to aviation trade magazines.
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library
For online access to the latest ASTM standards. Please note that we do not have online access to the previous or Redline versions. For older ASTM standards, please stop by Waldo Library to use the print versions (call number TA 401 .A653).
This provides full text access to many scholarly engineering journals.
- SciFinder Scholar
This extensive chemistry index supplies abstracts of journal articles, conferences, dissertations, technical reports, patents, substance records, formula, structure and reaction searching. Off campus users may be asked to make a security exception in order to access this database. One-time registration
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Coverage from 1995.
NOTE: users viewing this database through Internet Explorer 11 may experience a loss of functionality. It is recommended that you use a different browser.
- Web of Science
This very comprehensive scholarly database covers many areas of engineering, science, and computer science. The Cited Reference search allows you to search for articles that cite a particular author or work.