Ed. Stanley Hochman, 2nd ed., 5 vols., 1984
PN 1625 .M3 1984 (Ref)
Most entries are on individual dramatists but there are also substantial essays on the drama of particular nations. Long articles include biography, critical interpretations, summaries of selected plays, a list of plays, and a bibliography. There are numerous illustrations, usually of productions of plays.
TPN 1021 .E5 1995 (Ref)
A scholarly, thorough, detailed overview of poetic forms, history, theory, technique, and criticism. Not for people with only a casual interest in poetry. A major revision of The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Entries usually include a definition, discussion of history, examples, and a bibliography.
Indexes the individual articles and the indexes in thousands of subject encyclopedias and other reference books. Provides citations to specific volumes and page numbers. Links to the WMU Library Catalog for sources we own, but doesn't contain full text itself.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. It provides not only the current meanings of words, but also traces their development through time. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English language sources from around the world, making the OED a unique historical record. Print: PE 1625 .O86 (Ref)
Full text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
More than 200 dictionaries, encyclopedias, language reference and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. In addition to text, some sources include maps, illustrations, and Web links. Users can search one resource, a group of selected resources, or all of them at once. Regularly updated. This subscription is limited to five simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Ed. Margaret Drabble. 5th ed. 1995.
PR 19.O9x (Ref)
A general encyclopedia with entries on writers, literary works, major characters, movements, periods, terminology, etc. A very useful place for brief factual information.
A dictionary of literary and thematic terms
by Quinn, Edward, 1932- Published 1999
Call Number: PN44.5.Q56 1999
One of the best of numerous dictionaries of literary terms. Not as thorough on poetry as the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Includes forms, genres, kinds, groups, schools, themes, character types, styles, etc. Besides a definition some entries include etymology, examples, or an illustrative passage from a poem.