Last Updated: Feb 28, 2012
- Kalamazoo Gazette Index
Only local news is indexed. The Kalamazoo Public Library has an online index for the Gazette as a part of its catalog. Indexed by subjects and personal names since 1972. A few things have been indexed from older issues. You may need to pull the drop-down menu to Local Indexes and Community Information before searching.
- GENDIS: Michigan
The Genealogical Death Indexing System contains information on 170,000 Michigan death records from 1867-1884.
- Michigana: Sources in U.S. History Online
Michigan electronic Library houses various digital projects from around the state.
- MeL: Genealogy
List of links for Michigan, including organizations, county records, and cemetery databases.
- Michigan County Histories and Atlases
428 digitized titles (many composed of multiple volumes) published before 1923 are keyword searchable.
- Michigan Naturalization Record Indexes
Index to naturalization records are available for almost half of the counties in Michigan. Each index has been transcribed from the original hand-written index by volunteers.
- HeritageQuest Online
Records from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses, over 28,000 books of family and local histories, and primary-source documents. Search over 2 million articles form genealogy and history periodicals in PERSI.
- Family Search
Largest genealogy database with billions of records maintained by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Cindi's List
Guide to genealogical sites on the Internet.
Search engine for RootsWeb and Ancestry.com, but Ancestry.com asks for payment to see actual documents. There is an Ancestry Library Edition that can be used in our Archives in East Hall.
- Vital Records
How to obtain vital records (such as birth certificates, death records, marriage licenses, divorce decrees, naturalization, adoption and land records) from each state, territory and county of the United States. In general, vital records weren't kept in the United States until the early 1900s.
- Resources for Gealogists
National Archives site on starting family research, with tools for genealogists and links to census, immigration, land and other records.
- Kalamazoo Valley Genealogical Society
The KVGS aims to foster genealogical interest and activities in southwestern Michigan; provide education in genealogical research techniques; publish and make available genealogical materials and works to ensure access to and the preservation of public records.
- National Genealogical Society
NGS aims to serve and grow the genealogical community by providing education and training, fostering increased quality and standards, and promoting access to and preservation of genealogical records.
- New England Historical Genealogical Society
NEHGS in Boston offers material for the U.S., Canada and Europe, including a manuscript collection.