Last Updated: Jun 24, 2014
A Database is basically an old-fashioned word for search engine. Unlike Google, databases search the Deep Web for articles (from magazines, scholarly journals and conferences) that match keywords you type in. As you use these databases, look for the or PDF link within each search result. Clicking this will direct you to either the electronic version of the article, the call number for the printed version, or the InterLibrary Loan service (ILL) to request the article if not available at WMU. ILL article requests are usually free and usually take 2-4 days to fufill. Book requests may take from 10-14 days to receive.
This list of paper topic suggestions is just to get you started thinking about the many areas of engineering that you can explore in your research paper.
These general engineering/science databases are good places to begin your search for articles on an engineering topic.
- Engineering Village
Your FIRST choice on where to go for articles.The broadest engineering database in terms of coverage, Engineering Village focuses on scholarly engineering journals and conference papers, as well as covering much of the trade magazine literature.
- Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
While NOT as comprehensive as Engineering Village, this database does allow you to limit your search to trade magazine articles which is helpful sometimes.
- ProQuest Research Library
This covers both the popular literature and scholarly materials, including policy articles and trade magazines. This material tends to be a little more READABLE than the hardcore stuff in Engineering Village.
- ScienceDirect Engineering Book Series
Lots and lots of full text articles in PDF format.
The following discipline specific engineering databases will get you deeper into the literature.
- ACM Digital Library (Association of Computing Machinery)
Full text of every article ever published by the Association of Computing Machinery. Material included as part of our subscription includes journals, magazines, newsletters and proceedings.
- Aerospace Research Central
This database provides full text access to the journals and conference proceedings of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). Note journals and conference papers are in full text only back to 2008 or so.
- ASCE Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers)
This digital library provides full text access to all 30 ASCE Journal and Periodical volumes published since 1995. (Some journals are available going back a little further.)
- ASME Digital Library - Journals
Waldo Library subscribes to all 21 of the ASME journals both in online and print formats. Online access is from 1990 to the present. Note that when you search this site, you get references from conference papers and ebooks, as well as journals. WMU only subscribes to the journals.
- IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to all journals, transactions, and magazines published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers with coverage from 1988; Includes IEEE conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards. Note: this resource is limited to fifteen simultaneous users. Please logoff when you are finished.
- SAE Digital Library
Contains detailed summaries and citations to more than 85,000 conference papers and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) since 1906, with full text of conference papers going back to 1998. Covers research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. Note that the SAE standards are not available in full text in this database.