Legal Reference Sources: Home

http://libguides.wmich.edu/legalreferencesources
Guide Updated: Aug 30, 2014 8:06 PM

Government Printing Office (GPO) Logo & Info


FDLP Logo

The core mission of Keeping America Informed dated to 1813 when Congress determined to make information regarding the work of the three branches of Government available to all Americans. The U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.

As of November 5, 2011, the online federal system is known as the Federal Digital System or FDsys. The main site offers a search screen to locate GPO publications.

New: Affordable Care Act

There is a new libguide available covering the Affordable Care Act.  It is meant for people wanting to sign up for insurance and not a source for resources about the policy. 



About This Guide

Welcome to the WMU Libraries' research guide for Legal Reference Sources. This guide includes information resources, both print and online, found in the University Libraries or online through its Web site. 

Use the tabs at the top of this page to help you find guides to legal research, books and articles on laws and legislation, the courts and their rulings, biographical information on individuals associated with the law, and other types of legal resources essential for class work and research in your area of study. 

Special attention should be given to our documents collection on the 2nd floor of Waldo Library and online. Because we are a Federal depository library, we have many U.S. documents available. The Government Documents collection consists of paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM copies of federal publications as well as many online sites. Publications from the executive, judicial, and legislative branches of government are available in this collection. Most of this collection dates from 1963 to the present.  In addition, please note that many research guides also have a tab that will cite different types of legal resources, e.g., see the guide for Education, Educational Leadership, and Special Education and open the tab for Government Resources related to education or see the Political Science Subject Guide for U.S. Politics.

For assistance in doing your research, please contact me or any other librarian.   Ask-a-Librarian is just a click away!

 

Off-campus Access

If you are an enrolled student at WMU, all you need to access library resources remotely is an Internet connection and your Bronco NetID and password, The Bronco NetID is the same account you use to register online for classes or access other WMU online services.

More information about the Bronco NetID and connecting from off campus is available at this site. This page also includes information about additional plug ins you may need to download, as well as contact information for the OIT Help Desk.

Power Search - Scholarly Sources

This box will search across multiple subject databases for articles and other resources by keywords.  Once a list of citations is retrieved, please note the facets on the left side of the screen in order to narrow your research, e.g., scholarly articles.

Your Liaison Librarian

Laurel A. Grotzinger
Contact:
Professor & Reference Librarian

University Libraries

Western Michigan University

Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5353



Email: laurel.grotzinger@wmich.edu

Phone: 269 387-5418

Office Hours by Appointment

Intriguing Law Books