Full text online from over 400 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference books. Search a topic, build a concept map or browse information sources organized by subject. Find text, images, sound files, sortable data tables and more.
Indexes the individual articles and the indexes in thousands of subject encyclopedias and other reference books. Provides citations to specific volumes and page numbers. Links to the WMU Library Catalog for sources we own, but doesn't contain full text itself.
This online encyclopedia is based on the printed World Book Encyclopedia, and enriched with more articles, maps, tables, videos and sound clips. It provides many cross references and links to other resources including magazine articles and Web sites. It includes a dictionary, atlas and basic Spanish language encyclopedia.
Z 6941 .U5 (Ref. Desk Collection) . This directory provides detailed and authoritative information on serials published worldwide. It indicates whether a publication is refereed or is indexed. This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Provides bibliographic information, serial type, subscription data, and where indexed or abstracted, for US and international serials from over 100,000 publishers with over 200,000 titles. Updated quarterly.
Comprehensive catalog of books and other materials in libraries around the world. Contains millions of records in hundreds of languages. Items located through WorldCat must be requested through Interlibrary Loan unless they are also listed in the WMU libraries catalog. (Library Search)
Nonbook materials include (among other publication formats) the titles of journals and magazines, manuscripts, maps, electronic resources, websites, computer programs, musical scores, films, slides, sound recordings, conference proceedings, and videotapes.
Article Databases for Library & Information Science
Provides cover-to-cover indexing of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals. Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective™ contains indexing of nearly 1,500 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, book reviews, books, book chapters and library school theses. This resource provides access to nearly 80 years of citations that document all of the innovations, controversies and people instrumental in the making of modern librarianship. This subscription is limited to two simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA) Free index with abstracts for more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings, with coverage dating back to the mid-1960s. Anyone can access LISTA for free online
This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from EBSCOhost, FirstSearch, and from the US government.
Education Abstracts™ provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.
This index includes several research and citation databases. The Core Collection contains seven major databases: (1) Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), (2) Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), and (3) Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), (4) Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1994-present), (5) Book Citation Index (2005-present), (6) Current Chemical Reactions (1994-present), and (7) Index Chemicus (1994-present) . Cited Reference Search allows users to search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Additional databases can also be accessed through the Web of Science platform, including: BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Direct, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, INSPEC, MEDLINE, and Zoological Record. Tutorial Library users should use the Chrome browser for full functionality of this database.