Skip to main content

MGMT 2140: Exploring Entrepreneurship

Marketing and Industry Datababases

Sample APA Citation: Tang, O. (2012, August). IBISWorld Industry Report 31134. Candy Production in the US. Retrieved from IBISWorld database. 

Sample APA Citation:  Mintel. (2014, October). Mobile Apps – US – October 2014. Retrieved from Mintel Reports database.

Sample APA Citation: DemographicsNow. (2016). Income comparison for Cramerton, Kernersville, and Shelby, NC. Retrieved from DemographicsNow database.

DemographicsNow. (2016). CEX - apparel detail summary for zip code 27101. Retrieved July 31, 2016 from DemographicsNow database.

Padlet Activity

Part 1:

Using the Padlet for your group, post at least one report or graphic you want to use from each of the three sources.  In the description describe why you picked that one.  Think about things like Relevancy, Currency, Bias, Unique Perspective, Authority, Information Need.

Part 2: Pick one item on your Padlet and, in a Word document, give a bullet point from the assignment that matches that source.  Copy and paste or write in key pieces from the source that match the information need in the bullet point.

Business Subject Guide

Your Librarian

Business Librarian

LuMarie Guth, MBA, MLIS
1011 Waldo Library
269-387-5153

 

Learning Outcome Map

Activity Course Learning Outcome Information Literacy Core Competency
Pre-Class Activity: Case of Wine

HCOB ULO: 6. Students will be critical thinkers: Students will be asked to not only think like the founder of the new venture, but also from other perspectives, such as the customer, the venture capitalist, the competitor, etc.

4. Develop an appreciation for and understanding of opportunity discovery, value creation, and innovation

S&E 2b: Choose primary, secondary, and tertiary sources of information as appropriate
Intro: Hot Pockets

4. Develop an appreciation for and understanding of opportunity discovery, value creation, and innovation

SR 2a: Revise question, opinion, or thesis as necessary in response to new information, including conflicting or alternate viewpoints

Database Demo and Search

HCOB ULO: 4. Students will understand information technology systems: Students will be required to use online databases through the library to provide secondary data and support for their business concept.

S&E 1a: Design and modify search strategies as necessary in response to information found

S&E 2a: Design advanced search strategies that are both effective and efficient by using interface features (e.g. tables of contents, indexes, search limiters, boolean logic, citation chasing)

UIE 1a: Cite sources and contributing works of others appropriately

Padlet: Post Documents and Charts with titles from each of the 3 databases.  Describe why you picked it in the description box.

https://padlet.com/lumarie_guth/mgmt2140foodtrucks

https://padlet.com/lumarie_guth/mgmt2140dressrental

https://padlet.com/lumarie_guth/mgmt2140golfsimulator

HCOB ULO: 6. Students will be critical thinkers: Students will be asked to not only think like the founder of the new venture, but also from other perspectives, such as the customer, the venture capitalist, the competitor, etc.

S&E 1d: Evaluate information to determine whether, why, and how it addresses the research question

 

 

 

Hand in End of Class: Pick one source and find a bullet point in the assignment that matches.  Pull out the relevant information to answer the bullet point and Submit at the end of class. HCOB ULO: 6. Students will be critical thinkers: Students will be asked to not only think like the founder of the new venture, but also from other perspectives, such as the customer, the venture capitalist, the competitor, etc.

TCS 1a: Appropriately interpret, synthesize, and communicate information to integrate new ideas in a format and context appropriate to an intended audience

TCS 1b: Use information in context to analyze questions, solve problems, and make decisions

UIE1b: Use quotations, paraphrasing, and summarizing to integrate information appropriately into communications