Skip to main content

Apps and Mobile Sites: Database Apps

Chat

Database Apps

Access My Library - College Edition Gale Group iPhone, iPad, Android

This powerfull app searches many popular databases.  Download the App.  The first time you log in, you will be prompted to select your state and then your institution.  It will then ask you for your WMU email address. AML will send a password to you.  Once you enter your password, you will need to  click on "Update my Resources". It will generate a list of all the Gale Databases that we have access to at through WMU libraries.  It will remember your authentication and you can use same password on different devices.

American Chemical Society Publications

The American Chemical Society Mobile App requires connection to the University wireless network or VPN for access to fulltext.

 

 

Browzine iPad, Android

BrowZine is an iPad or Android app which allows users to create a browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals directly from your iPad or Android device. To add BrowZine to your iPad, you can download it directly from the App Store or to add it to your Android device download the Browzine app from the Google Play Store. After the app has downloaded, you'll be asked to choose your library. After choosing Western Michigan University you will then be prompted to enter your Bronco NetID. You can then begin building a personalized library of journals that can be used to download and read articles.

 

 Ebrary iPad, iPhone

Before you use the app, you will need to create a personal account (free) through the ebrary database through the library website. You will also need an Adobe account. (Adobe allows you to manage downloaded books and read them offline.) Download the ebrary app. Login with your ebrary username and apssword.  You will then be asked for your Adobe account information. Now,  you can start your search. You will need to sign into your personal account at least once every 90 days to keep it active. Personal accounts allow you to save items to a personal bookshelf, and to make annotations.

 Ebscohost  iPad, iPhone, Android

First you need to set up an account with Ebscohost through any of the databases that the library subscribes to, like America:History and Life, or Ebsco Ebooks.  Then scroll down to the bottom of any page and look for a link that says "Apps for iPhone and Android." Then download the app. You will need to log in with the credentials you just created.

 

Mango Languages iPhone, iPad

First you need to create an account with Mango Languages through the WMU Libraries website. Then download the app. You be able to download lessons and access them even when not connected to the internet.

 

 

 

Database Apps

Naxos Music Library iPhone, iPad

First you need to create an account with Naxos Music Library through the WMU Libraries website. Go to Naxos Music. Navigate to the Play List Feature. Create an account. Then, download the app. You will be asked to login with the credentials you just created.

 

RSC Publishers iPhone, iPad, Android

Access the most relevant scientific research via Latest Articles or Search options and save articles for reading offline. RSC Mobile include, up-to-the-minute access to RSC journals, full text HTML and PDF access via wireless networks for subscribing institutions/organisations, the latest news from our RSC Publishing Platform, saving articles for offline reading, share your favourite content via email, Twitter or Facebook    

 ScienceDirect iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry

 

First set up account through ScienceDirect database through the library, then download app. Log in.

 

 

Scopus Alerts iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry

First set up account through the Scopus database through the library, then download app. Log in.

 

 

 Springer Link iPhone, iPad

While on the go or away from your desk, tap into SpringerLink to access one of the largest collections of scientific information. SpringerLink is a publication database containing articles and chapters from over 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and over 48,000 books – in total, over 5.5 million documents spanning every area of science, technology and medicine.

 

STATRef! iPad, iPod, Android, Blackberry

,STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere. STAT!Ref is available through mobile applications that are supported by most popular devices or through web enabled mobile access technology (STAT!Ref Mobile).

 

USA.GOV  Android, Apple, Blackberry

The government apps and mobile sites allow you to access official information on various topics from the palm of your hand

 

Browzine

Browzine iPad, Android

BrowZine is an iPad or Android app which allows users to create a browsable newsstand of the library's top journals. Easily find, read, and monitor thousands of scholarly journals directly from your iPad or Android device. To add BrowZine to your iPad, you can download it directly from the App Store or to add it to your Android device download the Browzine app from the Google Play Store. After the app has downloaded, you'll be asked to choose your library. After choosing Western Michigan University you will then be prompted to enter your Bronco NetID. You can then begin building a personalized library of journals that can be used to download and read articles.