Skip to main content

Philosophy: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Specialized Encyclopedias

American Philosophy: An Encyclopedia - B 850 .A43 2008 (Waldo, Main Reference collection)

Companion Encyclopedia of Asian philosophy (Credo Reference)

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Oxford Art Online), 4 vols.

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics - Also in print at BJ 63 .E43x 1998 (Waldo, Main Reference collection)

Encyclopedia of Bioethics - QH 332 .E52 1995 (Waldo, Main Reference collection)

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (Credo Reference)

Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy - B 126 . E496 2003 (Waldo, General Stacks)   

Encyclopedia of Ethics (Credo Reference)

Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Also in print at B 802 .E53 2003 (Waldo, Main Reference collection)

Ethics [Encyclopedia, 2005] Also in print at BJ 63 . E54 2005 (Waldo, Main Reference collection)

Philosophy Dictionaries

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

A print copy (B41 .C35 1999) is found in the Waldo Library Reference Collection.

The 2005 2nd print edition is available in the Waldo Library Reference collection (B51 .O94 2005).

The Dictionary of Philosophy of Mind

Sponsored by Washington University, St. Louis, this online dictionary is "intended as a free resource for all those interested in the philosophy of mind." (Quoted from site.) Uses Google to search for term(s), but also has an alphabetical index with a letter by letter display of topics plus a section of brief biographies.

Dictionary of World Philosophy

A print edition is available in the Waldo Library Reference collection at B 41 .I26 2001.

The Ism Book: A Field Guide to the Nomenclature of Philosophy

"The Ism Book is an intellectual field guide that provides brief definitions of theories, doctrines, movements, and approaches in philosophy, religion, politics, science, the arts, and related disciplines." (ISM Web site).

Meet your librarian

Lisa Lishman's picture
Lisa Lishman
Contact:
lisa.lishman@wmich.edu
(269)387-5185
1st Floor Waldo Library, 1053