Welcome
Welcome to the Physics Research Guide! What are you working on today?
Looking for databases? Just scroll down!
Exploring/choosing a topic
Find background information about your topic
Finding sources
Find articles and books
Finding and using data
Find physical property data, astronomy data, and help with data and error analysis
Reading
Get help with difficult reading
Writing (and citing)
Learn how to cite sources and get help with writing
Resources for grad students and faculty
Current awareness, citation management, and tracking research impact
Get help
As your Natural Sciences librarian, I'm happy to help you at any stage of your research process!
- email me
- make an appointment to meet virtually or in-person
- contact the library by email or live chat
Physics databases
- American Physical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Thirteen journals published by the American Physical Society. We have subscribed access up to current issues for Physical Review Letters, Physical Review B, and Physical Review C. Fully open access titles include Physical Review X, PRX Quantum, Physical Review Research, Physical Review Accelerators & Beams, and Physical Review Physics Education Research. Titles we have access to but exclude the most recent 4 years of content include Reviews of Modern Physics, Physical Review A, Physical Review D, Physical Review E, and Physical Review Applied.
- Institute of Physics Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles of titles subscribed to by the WMU Libraries and tables of contents access to all of their published titles. Create an account for e-mail alerting, to save searches or maintain a personal file of articles.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present. NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus
- arXiv Physics This link opens in a new windowCaution: arXiv.org hosts self-published e-prints of articles which may not be peer-reviewed. Use the Author/title/abstract search, browse by new (most recent mailing, with abstracts), recent (last 5 mailings) or current month's physics listings or choose a specific category of physics.
- SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data SystemThe SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 10.0 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints.
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes virtually all doctoral dissertations and many masters theses produced in the U.S. since 1861. Dissertations from other countries date back to 1637. Abstracts available from 1980. Full-text for dissertations are being added continually. Most since 1997 are full-text, though some authors choose not to make their work available. Print and microfilm copies are offered for a fee, but request the item via Interlibrary Loan before paying for a copy.
New search functionality includes metadata from Clarivate's Citation Connection. To ensure your search results take advantage of this new functionality, please add “AND ref(1)“ to your search terms.
