Skip to main content

Political Science: Guides to the Field

Bibliographic Guides

These bibliographic guides recommend research and reference materials, and may also suggest ways of doing research in political science.  Use these guides to find seminal books and scholarly articles on your topic.

Guide for Political Science Majors

Presents essays on topics of interest to serious students of political science--hypotheses, laws and theories; case studies; hints on writing dissertations; the dissertation proposal; and professional ethics.

Helpful Guides

Directory of Political Science Faculty and Programs
JA 86 .D57 (Reference Desk Collection)
Arranged in alphabetical order by college/university, this guide describes undergraduate and graduate political science programs in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.  Faculty in each program are listed, including where they received their PhDs and their specializations.

Information Sources of Political Science
Z 7161 .I543 2005
This guide provides comprehensive, authoritative coverage of political science reference sources for researchers, librarians, and students. The annotated entries cover general works, U.S. government and politics, international relations and organizations, comparative politics, political theory, and public administration.

International Bibliography of Political Science
Z 7163 .I64
Beginning in 1952, this annual volume (part of UNESCO's International Bibliography of the Social Sciences) offers citations to the year's scholarship in the field of political science.  The bibliography is truly international, with more than 60 nations represented, and is arranged by broad topics such as political systems, constitutions, judicial power, political parties, etc.  Titles are given in their original language and then in English translation.

New Handbook of Political Science
JA 66 .N49 1996
Includes a collection of articles each written by an expert in the field on the discipline of political science and on various subfields such as political theory; articles include a substantial list of references.

Oxford Handbook of Political Science
JA 66 .O97 2009
Provides a comprehensive overview of all the main branches of contemporary political science: political theory; political institutions; political behavior; comparative politics; international relations; political economy; law and politics; public policy; contextual political analysis; and political methodology.

Political Science: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
Z 7161 .Y75 1990
This volume provides descriptions of over 800 major resources in the field of political science and its subdisciplines, including such works as dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, statistical sources, organizations, biographical sources and yearbooks.

Political Science Journal Information
Z 7163 .M37x 1990
Published by the American Political Science Association, this guide enables scholars and students to determine which journals contain articles on research related to their fields of inquiry.  The journals are arranged alphabetically and provide information on editorial policy, number of manuscripts submitted, accepted and published each year, etc.  It is somewhat out of date, but still useful.

Meet Your Librarian

Maria Perez-Stable's picture
Maria Perez-Stable
Contact:
Dwight B. Waldo Library, Room 1012
Email: maria.perez-stable@wmich.edu
Telephone: 269-387-5322

OFFICE HOURS for Fall 2017:By appointment
Website / Blog Page