Skip to main content

Psychology: Background Information

This is a guide to library resources in the field of psychology.

Encyclopedias

You can get general background on psychological concepts and theories from the following encyclopedias.

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology (4th ed., 2010, 4 vols.)

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Sciences, 4 vols (2001).

An updated (2010) and highly regarded print edition is available in Waldo Library's Reference collection at: BF31. E52 2010.

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior

2nd ed., 2012, "covering all aspects of human behavior.  Composed of essays that are self-contained summaries of one aspect of human behavior--written by eminent scholars and peer-reviewed.  BF31 .E5 1994 (Education Library, Reference Collection, Sangren Hall) 

Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science

Practical, non-technical articles on statistical concepts and techniques.

Handbooks and Manuals

Annual Review of Psychology

This is available online in full text from 1950 to the present.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-V. 
Includes DSM-V (the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th edition), the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals, clinicians and researchers in the United States. Part of Psychiatry Online which also provides Journals, Textbooks, Self Assessments, Diagnosis, Treatments, casebooks and complete access to the DSM, 4th edition, including revisions.

Handbook of International Psychology

BF121 .H2115 2004 (Waldo, Reference)
 

Handbook of Psychological Assessment

BF176 .G76 2009 (Waldo, General Stacks)

Handbook of Psychology (2003, 12 vols.)

BF121 .H1955 2003, (Waldo, Reference)
Content is also available online through Library Search. Search for individual titles, and access from the individual volume links, e.g., Vol. 10 on Assessment Psychology.

Mental Measurements Yearbook 

Contains overviews, descriptions and one or more reviews of many English-language standardized tests of educational skills, personality, psychological traits, and related areas.
This subscription is limited to eight simultaneous users. Please logout when finished.

Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology

BF181 .H336 2002 (Waldo, Reference)
 

Research Methodology