World Library Catalog
- WorldCat.orgWorld's Largest Library Catalog with over 1.5 billion items available through a library.
Comments (0)
Readers' Advisory
- GnooksPut the name of one of your favorite authors into the Map of Literature and see a mind map of authors similar to yours - as determined by this online community. Or put in three of your favorite authors and let Gnod suggest others you might like. There is also a place to discuss your favorite books and authors.
- Reader's AdviceBased on librarian contributions, this site contains references and see also recommendations to works of fiction of all types. Indexes include authors, big names, genres, and series.
Onlihe bookstores
Books - Free full text sites
- BartlebyGreat Books Online -- Quotes, poems, novels, reference materials.
- Complete Works of William Shakespeare...the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare." Based on the Complete Moby (tm) Shakespeare. Complete works can be searched.
- Google BooksProvides full-text access to thousands of books and partial access to some. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has granted permission, you can see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If the book is in the public domain, you are free to download a PDF copy. In some cases Google Books may link you to a local library where you can borrow the book, or to a retailer where you can buy it.
- Gutenberg-eA collaboration between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association that promotes electronic publication of prize-winning scholarly books. Besides the text of the books extra features include hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, and related Web sites.
- Internet Archive: Text ArchiveDownload free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
- ipl2: Arts and Humanities - Literature - Online Textsipl2 is a combination of Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII) websites. Lists links to major online text websites.
- National Academies PressProvies free online access to 4,000 of their books in a wide variety of subject areas from the sciences to public policy.
- Online Books PageListing over 1 million free books on the Web
- Project GutenbergOffers over 40,000 free e-books to download to a PC, Kindle, Android, iOS or other portable device.
Publishers
- Book PublishersSite meant for writers, lists around 400 book publishers.
- Publisher's CataloguesPublishing news and database of publishers linking out to their catalogs and home pages.
- Pulbishers GlobalExtensive list of publishers by media and by country.
Reference & ScholarWorks Librarian |
Contact Info 1009 Waldo Library Western Michigan University Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5353 maira.bundza@wmich.edu 269-387-5207 Office hours for Summer I at the reference desk: Mondays 2:30-4:00 pm. Thursdays 11:30 am - 1:00 pm Send Email |

Loading...
