Last Updated: May 29, 2014
The following information and links are provided for WMU instructors who use VHS tapes in their classes.
OIT has been working with departmental IT support staff to distribute over 30 VHS players throughout campus. These VHS players are on roll away carts and can be easily connected to the new digital technology bunkers thus allowing you to play VHS tapes. If you have a need to use a VHS player please reach out to your college IT representative for additional information.
Instructors who would like to to find alternatives for existing VHS tapes used in their courses should review the following resources:
- VHS Tape Obsolescence
This document outlines the best practices available to facilitate the transition from the VHS tape format to DVD or streaming media.
- Media Conversion Policy
WMU policy and procedure for conversion of media resources including VHS to DVD or streaming format.
- Copying a VHS Tape to DVD Format
WMU Registrars announcement about OIT Media Services transfer of VHS tapes to DVD at no cost for the remainder of 2013.
This is a single search interface to several different video collections available through the Alexander Street Press. You can also search the specific collection that is relevant to your field.
- VAST: Academic Video Online
Search or browse thousands of multidisciplinary streaming videos in several disciplines, including art, architecture, business, counseling and therapy, dance, economics, education, ethnic studies, ethnography, gay and lesbian studies, health, history, humanities, law and public safety, literature, opera, philosophy, political science, rehabilitation and sports medicine, psychology, religion, science, theatre, musical performance, and women’s studies. Also includes feature films (including contemporary world cinema and silent films)
Sample video clip from the Films on Demand collection.
ALERT: We are experiencing technical difficulties with Alexander Street Press videos off campus for devices which use Flash for video streaming. On campus use and devices which use QuickTime from off campus are unaffected.
- Films on Demand
Several thousand streaming videos which allow searching for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, create personal playlists for your students to view, and even create customized bookmarks within any program. Includes videos from the Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics, and Health & Medicine collections.
- Filmakers Library Online
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.
- World Book Online Reference Center
This online encyclopedia is based on the printed World Book Encyclopedia, and enriched with more articles, maps, tables, videos and sound clips. It provides many cross references and links to other resources including magazine articles and Web sites. It includes a dictionary, atlas and basic Spanish language encyclopedia.
- World Wide TV
Streaming video and/or audio from almost 1000 TV stations throughout the world. Click on a country to the left and a list of stations appears.
- Youtube Education
Includes videos and channels from colleges and universities. Collection includes lectures, documentaries, interviews and other features.
- Cultural and Academic Films from the Moving image Archive
Excellent collection of nonfiction films including many historical titles as well as topics ranging from politics to art to mathematics and medicine.
The Instructional Video Collection contains over 3000 DVDs, videotapes and films. This is a multi-disciplinary instructional collection housing items on subjects such as psychology, engineering, art and design, environmental sciences, history, foreign language materials, communication, education, teacher training and PBS and Annenberg series.