Skip to main content

World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics: Arabic

Databases

In addition to the list of general databases for languages and literatures, ths list offers resources specific to studies in Arabic languages, literatures, and culture.

Index Islamicus

  • Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Covering subjects such as: Economics, History, Law, Literature, Religion, Social Sciences, and more. From 1906-Present.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online 

  • Searchable full-text access to The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, two classic interpretations of the Qur'an, a Concordance of the Qur'an, What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, and the forthcoming Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World (due to publish in 2008.)


allAfrica.com 

  • This African news site posts over 800 stories daily in English and French and offers multi-lingual streaming programming as well as over 900,000 articles in the archive, including the Africa News Service from 1997

AMEEL (Yale) 

  • AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library offers the OACIS serials database and integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely.

Professional Organizations

Arab Detroit

"Arab Detroit was founded with the purpose of promoting an accurate image about the Arab American community and the Arab world. The greater Detroit area is the home to the largest concentration of Arab Americans in North America. As a result, Detroit is known as the “capital of Arab America.” This site provides news, lists of events around the country, organizations, resources and places for Arab food and entertainment.

Center for Contemporary Arab Studies

The Center for Contemporary Arab Studies (CCAS) is the only academic center in the United States focusing essentially on the Arab world—the region from Morocco to the Gulf. It has been doing so with distinction for almost 35 years. The Center's Washington, D.C. location provides access to the government, the policy community, the media, and business, as well as academia. Attendance at its public events and applications to its distinguished Master of Arts in Arab Studies program (MAAS) have more than doubled since 2001.

American Association of Teachers of Arabic (AATA)

American Association of Teachers of Arabic (AATA) aims to facilitate communication and cooperation between teachers of Arabic and to promote study, criticism, research and instruction in the field of Arabic language pedagogy, Arabic linguistics and Arabic literature."

Middle East Studies Association (MESA)

"The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) is a non-political association that fosters the study of the Middle East, promotes high standards of scholarship and teaching, and encourages public understanding of the region and its peoples through programs, publications and services that enhance education, further intellectual exchange, recognize professional distinction, and defend academic freedom."

Cultural Websites

Center for Arabic Culture

"The mission of the Center for Arabic Culture (CAC) is to inspire and educate the community on Arabic music, dance, arts, and culture. Through performances, exhibitions, lectures, and workshops in the Washington, D.C. metro area, CAC aims to display and promote the richness of Arabic culture in order to build a bridge of appreciation and understanding with diverse populations."

Columbia Middle East Online Resource List

"Columbia University's collection of Middle East Studies Internet Resources is an on-going compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on the Middle East and North Africa (in the broadest sense) available on the global Internet, created under the purview of the Middle East Studies Department of Columbia University Libraries. Electronic resources from the Middle East are organized by region, country and subject. All materials are arranged to encourage an awareness of authorship, type of information, and subject. The scope of the collection is research-oriented, but it also provides access to other gopher and web sites with different or broader missions."

Institut du monde arabe

The Institut du Mond Arabe is a cultural center established between France and 22 Arabic countries.

Middle East Studies Internet Resources.

Sponsored by Columbia University Libraries.

Arab spring: an interactive timeline of Middle East protests  Ever since a man in Tunisia burned himself to death in December 2010 in protest at his treatment by police, pro-democracy rebellions have erupted across the Middle East. This interactive timeline traces key events.