Skip to main content

World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics: French

In progress

Under construction.-kl 5/20/2016

Databases

Repere 

Indexes about 560 French-language periodicals in all subject areas, published in Quebec, elsewhere in Canada, France, Belgium and Switzerland. Coverage goes back to 1980 and is updated daily.

Web resources

ABU: La Bibliotheque Universelle

Free access to 288 French texts from 101 authors.

Afrique Francophone

Has pointers to an extensive list of sites, organized by region, country, and subject, dealing with Francophone Africa.

Alliance francaise de Chicago

Chicago's French cultural and learning center dedicated to the study of French language,cultural exchange, and friendship between Americans and French speaking people.

Besancon.fr Official website to Bensancon

Official website to Besancon with links to culture, tourism, and everyday life.

ClicNet

Provides access to a wide variety of online resources in French, including pointers to news and reference sources.

Culture.fr Portal to French Culture

Edited by the Minstry of Culture and Communication, contains information on cultural and current events,exhibitions and more. Can be searched by region.

Gallica

Gallica is the name of the digital library of the Bibliotheque Nationale de France. It offers over 90,000 volumes in image format, 1,200 volumes in searchable text format, 500 sound recordings, 80,000 still images.

Lyon.fr Official Website to Lyon

Official site to Lyon with information on tourism, culture, sports, everyday life, and much more.

Mairie de Paris

The official site of the Parisian government. Links to culture, tourism, studying and visiting Paris. English version: http://www.paris.fr/english

Official Quebec Website

Official site to the Quebec government with links to tourism, culture, etc...

Project Gutenberg : French Texts

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. This is the link to texts in French only.

Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links

Compiled by Robert Peckham at the University of Tennessee, Martin, this site links the user to thousands of French culture and language webpages. Included are Francophone sites, books, art, music, film, language study, and many other topics.

ARTFL Project 

A database produced by the American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (University of Chicago) of nearly 2000 texts ranging from classic French literature to nonfiction and technical writing. Includes medieval and Renaissance as well as 18th, 19th, and 20th century works in many genres, such as fiction, poetry, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy.

E-collections at the Center for Research Libraries

The Center for Research Libraries acquires and preserves a wide range of newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. With this digital collection their goal is to provide all CRL holdings in electronic form within the next few years.

Dictionairies

Dictionnaire quebecois-francais PC3645.Q4 M46x 1999

Harrap's French and English business dictionary 
HF1002 .H3443 2005

Harrap's French and English college dictionary PC2640 .H2725 2006 (Ref)

Larousee Dictionnaire compact plus francais-anglais, anglais-francaisPC2640 .D444 2005 (Ref)

Le quebecois de poche PC3645.Q4 S35x 1998

Routledge French Technical Dictionary 
T10 .R68x 1994

Streetwise French dictionary/thesaurus : the user-friendly guide to French slang and idioms PC3741 .P5 2002

The Oxford Hachette French Dictionary PC 2640 .083 (Ref)

Tresor de la Langue Francaise Inforatise Electronic scholarly dictionary of the French Language.

Webster's New World Concise French Dictionary PC2640 .W376 2006 (Waldo)

Teaching Organizations

American Association of Teachers in French

Site for the professional organization that publishes the French Review and the National Bulletin. Has useful links to resources on teaching French and French Cultural sites.

Reference Books

A comprehensive French grammar

PC2112 .P75 2003

A French-English grammar : a contrastive grammar on translational principles

PC2099 .S25 1999

Biographie Universelle Ancienne et Moderne

T 143 .M5 (Ref) 1854-1966.
The most important of the large dictionaries of universal biography (containing information about people from all over the world).

Dictionnaire des grandes oeuvres de la litterature francaise

PQ41 .D52x 1997(Ref)

France : a reference guide from the Renaissance to the present

DC35 .R64 2004 (Ref)

French false friends

PC2593.K47

Guide to correspondence in French : a practical guide to social and commercial correspondence

PC2483.O94 1987

Media French : a guide to contemporary French idiom

PC2460 .R583x 1997

Schaum's Outline of French Grammar

Netlibrary E-Book

The New Oxford companion to literature in French

PQ41 .N48x 1995 (Ref)