Skip to main content

World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics: German

Coming

uner revision, -k.l. 6/27/16

German National Library

Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker 

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker is regarded throughout the world as the premier collection of German writing.

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Web sites

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek

The German National Library is central archival library and national bibliographic centre for the Federal Republic of Germany.

German History in Documents and Images

Under the direction of the German Historical Institute, German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is
a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present.

Nazi and East German Propaganda

The German Propaganda Archive from Calvin College includes both propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists.

SOPHIE: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking Women

A gathering of various German works by women from around the world in literature, music, journalism and colonial literature, travel literature and drama.

 

Reference Books at Waldo Library

Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie

The standard biographical reference work for German nationals, containing long articles, with bibliographies, on persons from earliest times through the 19th century. (German) 1875-1912.
CT 1053 .A5 1967 (Ref)

Brockhaus Enzyklopaedie

AE 27 .B922 1996 (Ref)
A standard scholarly German encyclopedia containing over 260,000 entries, with many illustrations. Predominantly short articles, with longer ones on countries and major topics.

Collins German-English English-German dictionary

Electronic Book

Encyclopedia of contemporary German culture

DD290.26 .E53 1999 (Ref)

Encyclopedia of German literature

PT41 .E52x 2000 (Ref)

German literature : an annotated reference guide

Z 2231 .F38 (Ref)

Knaurs Lexikon der sinnverwandten Worter : 20,000 Stichworter mit ihren Synonymen

PF3591 .R33x (Ref)

Medieval Germany : an encyclopedia

DD126 .M43 2001 (Ref)

Modern Germany : an encyclopedia of history, people, and culture, 1871-1990

DD14 .M64 1998 (Waldo Permanent Reserve)

Neue Deutsche Biographie

(German) 1953-1990
DD 85 .N4x (Ref)
A work supplementing, to some extent, Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie, including some of the same names as well as many others. Indexes in each volume.

The encyclopedia of the Third Reich

DD256.5 .G76313 1991 (Ref)

The Oxford companion to German literature

PT41 .G3 1997 (Ref)

Using German synonyms

Electronic Book

Women writers of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland : an annotated bio-bibliographical guide

Z2233.5.W6 W66 1989 (Ref)

Databases

Electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica

(Rare Book Room, CD-ROM DD 1) 
Turnhout: Brepols, 1996-. A selection of texts from all five divisions of the Monumenta Germaniac Historica (Scriptores Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae, and Antiquitates).

Organizations

American Association of Teachers of German

The AATG is for teachers of German at all levels of instruction and all those interested in the teaching of German.

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages

A national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction throughout the U.S.

German Studies Association

The German Studies Association is the multi- and interdisciplinary association of scholars in German, Austrian, and Swiss history, literature, culture studies, political science, and economics.

Goethe-Institute Chicago

The Goethe-Institut is the cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany with a global reach and promotes knowledge of the German language abroad, fosters international cultural cooperation. Germany's cultural, social and political life.

WESSWeb German Studies

Association of College and Research Libraries Western European Studies Section German Studies Web.