Skip to main content

World Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics: Italian

under construction

Under construction... kl 5/20/2016

 

 

Databases

Italian Women Writers

"The Italian Women Writers project (IWW) is a long-term research endeavor to preserve and provide access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors. Our goal is to bring information on and texts by both famous and previously neglected Italian women writers to a wider audience of students, scholars, teachers, and the general public, and to preserve these often fragile texts for generations to come."

Princeton Dante Project

The Princeton Dante Project combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting texts, translations, history, data, images, and sound.

World of Dante

The World of Dante offers a hypermedia environment for the study of the Inferno.

Historical Research in Europe: A Guide to Libraries and Archives A database of online and print catalogs and finding guides to research materials and collections in Western Europe. This is intended to assist researchers who are planning to use European libraries and archives. "Included are all kinds of archival and library resources available in Western Europe; thus the scope of the project includes resources useful for researchers studying Asia, Africa, Oceania and the Americas, as well as for researchers studying Europe."

ItalNet An international consortium whose mission is to make available scholarly Internet resources of literary and historical materials relating to Italian studies.

Medici Archive Project Documentary sources for the arts and the humanities. Also has links to Jewish history and religion from the Medici Granducal Archive.

Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Paravia Italian Dictionary

PC1640 .D538x 2003 (Ref)
Italian-English, English-Italian

Dizionario Etimologico Italiano

PC 1580 .B37x 1975
5 vol. etimological dictionary.

Garzanti Online Dictionary

Grande Dizionario Della Lingua Italiana

PC 1625 .B3 (Ref)
21 vols.

Italian Business Dictionary

HF 1002 .I887 2006

Larousse Concise Dictionary

PC1640 .L318x 2004 (Ref)
Italian-English, English-Italian

Streetwise Italian Dictionary/Thesaurus : The User Friendly Guide to Italian Slang and Idioms

PC1971 .S77 2005 (Ref)

Organizations

WESSWeb: Italian Studies Web "The Italian Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in Italian Studies. We do not strive for exhaustiveness but rather for quality. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. If needed, annotations have been provided augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars."

American Association of Teachers of Italian

The American Association of Teachers of Italian was founded in 1924 to promote the study of Italian language, literature, and culture in schools, colleges and universities in North America. It has approximately 1500 members worldwide. The Association publishes the quarterly journal,Italica, and a newsletter. It sponsors seminars and workshops in the broad area of Italian studies and holds annual meetings, usually in conjunction with ACTFL but also in Italy. AATI is dedicated to excellence in teaching and research in all areas of Italian studies.

Italian Cultural Institute of Chicago

The Institute is the cultural office of the Consulate General of Italy in Chicago. Founded in 1985, the Institute is one of five cultural agencies of the Italian Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the United States. The Institute serves as a source for information about Italian life and culture that showcases Italy's classic and contemporary heritage with particular reference to art, music, cinema, design, architecture, science, and technology. The Institute is also home to a school of Italian language and culture, as well as a venue for art exhibitions and film screenings.