This database focuses on the collective experience of the LGBTQ community while illuminating the personal experiences of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. The archive contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Consolidated for the first time, Independent Voices provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries. Independent Voices provides easy access to the powerful voices of feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. Covers 1951-2015.

A collection of full text books, pamphlets, articles, documents and images of American women's reform movements over the last 400 years including special subjects such as African-American Women and the Equal Rights Debate in the 1920s. Includes the bibliographic dictionary Notable American Women 1907-1950. Printing performance is sporadic. We recommend printing from the Safari browser only.

Focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Topics include the History of Feminist Theory and Activism; domestic culture; lay and ordained church women; women in industry; women's sexuality and gender expression; women’s education; women’s movement; women’s health and mental health; women and law; women and the control of their bodies; and women’s roles and interactions within society.

Content from publications worldwide pertaining to Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies, and other relevant fields. This database features a subject-specific thesaurus with 4,528 preferred and 8,528 non-preferred terms, as well as searchable cited references to help researchers retrieve the records most relevant to their search queries.

This is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country- and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

This is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database which includes 4,000 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 9,000 journals.

Covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals 1955-present.

Literature and essays on racial and feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other private sources.

Indexes journals in nursing and related fields with full-text for 1,300 of them. From 1954 to the present. Updated weekly.

This is the core index in the field of Education. Includes citations with abstracts for over 2,000 journals and more than 450,000 reports in education and related fields.Covers 1966-present. This database is also available from the US government.

Covers world-wide literature in psychology and related disciplines. Journal articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, and dissertations are included. Coverage from 1806 to Current. Updated weekly.

This collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR, covering more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Also included are millions of primary sources from the 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and the Global Plants collections.

The JSTOR platform does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of a journal’s content. Current issues of journals hosted on the JSTOR platform are available through separate subscriptions on other platforms. Please check LibrarySearch for access to embargoed content.

Project MUSE (Museums Uniting with Schools in Education) offers more than 300 journal titles from several scholarly publishers in the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, and others.

Indexes scholarly literature in the natural and social sciences. Use this to get extensive inter-disciplinary access to journal articles and also to find out which articles are being cited by other scholars . Cited references from 1970-present, records from 1788-present.

NOTE: WMU users do not have access to SciVal through Scopus

This is a comprehensive resource that includes more than 8,000 news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide, including major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles.

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

1851 to date. Does not include Crosswords and Times Insider.

HOW TO ACCESS:
FIRST: Register for an Academic Pass. 
First time registrants MUST use their @wmich.edu email addresses to register for an Academic Pass. Your Academic Pass is good for 364 days from the date you activate it; after it expires you can re-register using the registration link above for a new pass for 364 days.
NEXT: Log in here with your WMU account.

Mobile APPS: Your Academic Pass includes access to the New York Times via the NYTimes smartphone and tablet apps.; these are included as part of the Academic Pass and are available here.