Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

This page is an A-Z list of all databases available through WMU Libraries. Search by database name or browse alphabetically.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Multidisciplinary database of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
Trial
Reference and teaching platform that delivers interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools.

WMU users have complimentary access to this resource through May 31, 2020
New
American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,000 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the colonial era through World War I, including thousands never before available online.

Please use the trial database evaluation form to provide feedback on this resource.
Trial ends April 30, 2020
  • Restricted to WMU users
New
Over 11,000 works of short fiction and folklore produced by writers from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. The materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors and ranges from early African oral traditions to today’s hip-hop.
  • Restricted to WMU users
New
Literature and essays on racial and feminist issues, written by authors from Africa and the African diaspora. Many of the writings have been hidden in rare and hard to find texts, obscure typewritten documents, photocopied journals, and other private sources.
Trial
WMU users have temporary access to additional databases on the Bloomsbury platform through May 31, 2020. Databases include Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases, Fairchild Books Library, Fashion Photography Archive.
Trial
Books and articles on topics such as public health, distance learning, and crisis research. Available until May 31, 2020.
Trial
A peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world.
Trial
A series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Trial
Original, concise, authoritative, and peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific research, organized into focused series and edited by leading scholars to provide comprehensive coverage of the key topics in disciplines spanning the arts and sciences.
Trial
New
In response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), this cross-disciplinary open-access resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations, and other content from key publishers.
Trial
DeGruyter has granted access to additional content on their platform through June 30, 2020. Around 75,000 titles from university press partners include Cornell, Harvard, Princeton, Rutgers, Stanford, Toronto, and more. Access to the University of California Press, University of Chicago Press and Yale University Press will be delayed until the end of April/early May due to a platform upgrade.
  • Restricted to WMU users
New
An electronic edition of the Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker which contains the high points of German literature, as well as editions of works by writers and philosophers such as Herder, Kleist, Kant, and Fichte. Various historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts are included among the digitized works. Eleven centuries are included.
Trial
Eight Centuries is a comprehensive database aggregating vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, artwork, and images.

WMU users will have access to this database until June 30, 2020
Trial
Temporary free access to the last 12 months of scholarly articles published in journals hosted on the Érudit platform. Content is continuously updated
Trial
Faculty can search and access quality open textbooks, Open Educational Resources (OER), and request access to unrestricted library e-books from top academic publishers. To find OER's click on the Search Options link and limit your search to OER only.

WMU users will have complimentary access to this resource through June 30, 2020.

Please use the trial database feedback form to provide feedback on this resource.
Trial
Harvard Business Review’s complete catalog of e-books covering business communication, career development, decision-making and problem-solving, economics, organizational behavior, personal success, skill development and more. WMU users have complimentary access to this collection until May 30, 2020.
Trial
JoVE publishes video demonstrations and detailed text protocols that facilitate scientific reproducibility and productivity.

WMU users have access to the Journal of Visualized Experiments through June 15, 2020.
  • Restricted to WMU users
New
100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by from Latino women writers across North and South America from the colonial period to the present provides a means for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.
  • Restricted to WMU users
New
Contains more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction and drama by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. Includes almost 400 plays.
Trial
A general encyclopedia of musi offering in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts. MGG Online contains the second print edition of MGG, published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.

WMU users have complimentary access to this database through May 31, 2020
Trial
More than 2,500 eBooks. Subjects include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.

WMU users have complimentary access to this resource through May 31, 2020
Trial
U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform for research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Thousands of U.S. data indicators to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis.

WMU users will have complimentary access to this database through June 30, 2020
Trial
This ebook provides guidance on prevention and control of COVID-19 in different places like homes, outdoors, workplaces, etc. Questions, such as "What is the purpose and significance of home quarantine?", " When do you need to wear a mask?", "How should you wash your hands?", "Do you need to wear a mask in an elevator?", "What foods are safe to eat and what are not?", "How to deal with express parcels from major epidemic areas or other areas?" and many other useful tips.
Trial
RILM Music Encyclopedias is a continually expanding curated full-text collection that currently comprises 57 titles published from 1775 to the present. Its content spans various fields and subject areas of historical musicology, ethnomusicology and theory, with focus on topics ranging from popular music, opera, instruments, blues and gospel, to recorded music and women composers.

WMU users have complimentary access to this database through May 31, 2020
Trial
This collection includes clinical skills videos and content that emphasizes “softer” career-building skills and techniques that help nurses better understand and care for the “whole patient.” Some of the specific areas covered include: communication skills, nursing theory and history, global and population health, and nurses’ role in advocacy and policy.

Please use the trial database feedback form to provide feedback on this resource.

Trial ends June 24, 2020
Trial
A methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences. Find information on how to design and conduct a research project, read case studies from researchers, download datasets to practice statistical analysis, and more.

Please use the trial database feedback form to provide feedback on this resource.

Trial ends June 24, 2020
Trial
Educational video across key social science disciplines. Each collection includes a breadth of video types to support diverse research and learning needs. All videos are fully citable with searchable transcripts, custom clip creation and embedding capabilities.

WMU users have complimentary access to Sage Video content through June 30, 2020
Trial
Content on epidemiology, disease modeling, pandemics, and vaccines has been made freely available for one year.
New
University of Fashion is an online fashion video lesson database that includes instruction on CAD and traditional pattern design and fashion art, draping, accessories, product development, sewing, and more. Lessons are taught by industry professionals and college professors. Videos include chapter breaks, transcripts, and supply lists, and are professionally shot and edited.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...